We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review”

Hibachi Buffet and Grill
Ranked #57 of 154 Restaurants in Chantilly
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have visited several times in last month. Initially very impressed with selection and quality. Excellent roast beef, moist salmon, seemingly fresh boiled shrimp. Over the course of the month roast beef is now overlooked, salmon has disappeared and shrimp are limp and tasteless, still with large sushi selection and cook to order stir fry the overall experience is better than many other Chinese buffets in the area. Lunch price seems reasonable, but dinner prices are quite high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, better than expected!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Tried this on a whim. Walked in and saw a bunch of asians so my expectations went up. Fresh food and hibachi is the highlight. Only downside, poor dessert selection. Service is poor, good luck on drink refills.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle_andAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Good place to fill up on a small budget”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great place for all you can eat sushi. They also have a large selecton on the buffet. The seafood is okay. I guess that for the price it's pretty good but, for quality of food it is just okay. The sushi is fresh and made all night long. The only complaint I have is that the waitresses spend to much time checking their email and texting instead of paying attention to the customers refiling their drinks. I had to go up get my own they came over and helped me and then went to our table and refilled everyones drinks and took away the old plates. There were three on our side of the place about 10 feet away and they were all on their phones. We waited for 10 minutes for them to look over but, they never did until I got up and went into the little alcove that had the drink fountain in it and got it myself. They also have some American food as well such as mashed potatoes, pizza stuff like that for kids who are picky eaters. They also have a Mongolian wok station which is pretty good as well. I have been here 5 times.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Many dishes, but seafood is frozen”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Popular place for those who load up on (fresh) oysters. A lot of the seafood is cooked from frozen, not fresh, even though the owner is Chinese and knows better. (Fresh caught and cooked fish has a much better flavor.) Try the noodle making station - selections of shrimp, beef, chicken and veggies cooked along with the noodles. Sushi selections are ok too, and the wait staff - many brought down form NY Chiantown by the owner - are friendly and helpful. Senior lunch buffet price on weekdays is $7.95 - a bargain since weekend price is $16.95.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank R0bert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had a great experience eating here on Christmas day with my family. They offer tons of food choices that will fit into anyone's budget. First off they have a sushi station with a variety of sushi for those who love sushi this is all you can eat. I personally am not a fan of sushi but, was really impressed how fresh it was and how many choices you have.
Secondly, they have a grill station where you can pick and choose whatever meat, veges etc you want and they grill it up for you right there. Third but, not last its endless choices of fish, oysters on the half shell,shrimp, chicken, beef, veges dishes, you name it they had it. There were so many choices my head was spinning trying to decide what to try next. Even for those who do not want to eat Asian, they offer ALL American food too such as mash potatoes, beef, french fries etc. There is something for everyone.
And lets not forget dessert, many choices there. I am probably forgetting something but, you just have to go there and experience it yourself. Prices are very reasonable compared to all the other Asian Buffets in town. Their prices beat them all out. Go hungry and leave happy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thiri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hibachi Buffet and Grill also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Hibachi Buffet and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing