We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take the wrong bus - free second review therefore :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't take the wrong bus - free second review therefore :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Well, if you get around, you learn for life. This time it certainly was my mistake after a 18 hours flight time to get onto the wrong bus at Dulles airport.

At Dulles Airport, there is more than one Holiday Inn and it is easy to overlook what bus is going to which hotel. So I ended up at the Holiday Inn Sterling first.

While the friendly staff was helpful finding out that I have no reservation there, the total time it took was one hour to get back to airport ..

Besides, the personnel at Holiday In Sterling seems to have an argument with each other - at least the clerk and the repair man were constantly shouting at each other while I was waiting for the next bus. I cannot comment for the rooms, but the entrance area is a little run down.

Back to the other Holiday Inn Chantilly : It was quite a nice difference, very clean, spacier lobby, nice, and a friendly staff, but somewhat small rooms A/C was loud and bulky, too. Had a decent night after switching off the noisy beast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Lorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    65
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
21
24
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for years, the place is clean, staff friendly. There is a pool that is well maintained. The restrauant is great, one of the few eateries that has a 7 day a week happy hour, prices on drinks great, food is very good, they have an early bird dinner for $9.99 main course plus soup or salad. The staff at the restrauant is amazing,,they keep,up with a lot of tired, thirsty and hungry guests. We stay here about 4 times a year, we can walk from the expo center just across the parking lot, love not having to drive after a long work day and we don't miss sitting in traffic!

Room Tip: Just stay away from any blocked rooms. Wedding parties etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
364 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The reason we stayed here was that my husband was attending an event at the Dulles Expo, so it was the most convenient. With AAA discount the total charge was $90.72 (no breakfast but free wi-fi). I have no complaints about the hotel, but also felt there was no "wow" factor either.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for couple days, for business trip, front desk is useless, don't give you any information, in general seems like then don't care at all, went to the pool, it was dirty and as the excuse they said because of the rain and paint on the bottom it's dirty. Well, not a big deal, then ordered room service, and the prices in a room menu is different than at the restaurant, so I.ll suggest just double check. And actually last night of my stay decided to go to the restaurant at the hotel and seemed like it was separate planet with the hotel. People speak english, had great customer service, and they made my stay. Thank you Paul( who as a manager was running around and helping with everything, he is amazing,handsome man, beautiful smile, knows how to professionally talk to the guests, be nice and be respectful ) Becky(amazing bartender even in busy hours), Abby and Gerardo(lovely waitresses)!!! All of you did a great job ! Because of you I.d like to come back !!!
Otherwise hotel definitely needs improvements! !!!
From Russia with love,
Anastasia :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank anab145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I went on a group trip so there was some delay in getting to my room and the first room I was given was in the beginning stages of being cleaned. I was given another room a short time later and it was clean and comfortable. My sister discovered to her surprise that her room did not have a bathtub and she likes to take baths and not showers. After a long trip there she was too tired to ask for another room. The group leader had arranged for our group to have breakfast and we were given a private dining area. The breakfast was O.K. with the exception of the fake eggs and no toaster for the sliced bread that on the serving table. We asked for a toaster for two mornings but did not get one until the third and last morning. After getting orange juice and very good coffee at the included breakfast, my friends and I paid for breakfast in the restaurant for two of the three mornings.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub let the desk know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Rosalyn P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I checked in around 9:30 pm and found that although my reservation specified a room with two beds they were all out. At that point it didn't matter because my son had cancelled on me, but still you should be warned that you won't always get what you asked for. The room was clean and the king bed comfortable, although the walls seemed a little on the thin side (I could hear talking in the next room). The bathroom has a magnifying mirror and a shower but no tub. Cool design where the hinged bathroom door can serve as a door to the whole room or just the toilet area. The next day (a Saturday) they were short-staffed in the restaurant around 8 am. The breakfast choices are numerous although the menu didn't match the sample in the notebook in my room. I chose the One Egg with English Muffin and Fruit (or something like that). The English muffin was cold but the scrambled egg wasn't. They forgot my cranberry juice until I was done eating and had the nerve to charge me for it ($2.19) and I drank it anyway because I was too shy to refuse it. Still, I slept well and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catocop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville,Pa.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was traveling with a group (The Bandit Run) and one of our overnight stops was in Chantilly. The hotel was packed with "runners" as well as other guests. When we checked in I overheard someone say to the person checking us in about giving us a certain room and explaining it ti us. Well no one explained anything. We got the key and went to our room. What they neglected to explain was they upgraded our room to a suite for the same price of the regular room! It was spacious and beautiful not to mention exceptionally clean! Too bad we were only there for one night I could have easily stayed there longer.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and if I travel to that area again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghosthuntgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chantilly hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chantilly Dulles Airport
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dulles Airport South
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Chantilly
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo
Address: 4335 Chantilly Shopping Center Dr, Chantilly, VA 20151-4017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chantilly
#8 Business Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning full service hotel in the Dulles Airport corridor, the Holiday Inn Chantilly Dulles-Expo (Arpt), is located on site of the Dulles Expo Center complex and near the Udvar-Hazy Center. At our Chantilly hotel, convenience is key. We are located minutes from Dulles International Airport, in the heart of Northern Virginia s growing technological community. The historical sites and attractions of Northern Virginia and Washington DC are a short drive. This Dulles Airport hotel features beautifully appointed guest rooms, with free local telephone calls, free wireless high speed Internet, free airport shuttle 24/7,and all the amenities a guest could want. Bob O s Restaurant offers a daily continental breakfast buffet; a full a la carte breakfast, lunch, and dinner menu; and Kids Eat Free! The lounge offers daily beverage specials and multiple TVs for viewing your favorite sporting events. For added relaxation, this pet friendly hotel features a seasonal swimming pool and a spacious, well-equipped fitness center. There is also a 24-hour business center, convenience store and guest laundry in the hotel. Whether traveling on business or for pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Chantilly Dulles-Expo (Arpt) be your host. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo Hotel Chantilly
Chantilly Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing