We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2007

I expected more from this hotel, as it is one recommended by the company I was visiting. The hotel claims to be non-smoking and says they have been for a year. This might be true but my room reeked, and the smell was stale cigarette smoke. Either they went non-smoking more recently than they claimed, or they did not do enough to rehab the rooms. The continental breakfast was average. The halls were too warm and the room took forever to cool down.
The shuttle took over an hour and a half to come pick me up from the airport, even though the hotel is only 11 minutes away. The front desk clerk alluded to the shuttle driver disappearing with the shuttle for an hour, but nothing was done about it. Co-workers who arrived a day or two later had the same problem.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karmathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 559 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2007

When everything works right, this might be a fine hotel--but everything didn't work right. First, it took the shuttle 45 minutes to pick me up at Dulles Airport and bring me back to the hotel. That seemed like an inordinate amount of time to me.

When I got to the hotel and checked in, it turned out the cable was out. Well, not so bad, right? Wrong. When the cable is out, the internet is out, and so is the phone. I think that's dangerous. What if a guest has an emergency? I happened to have a cell phone, but suppose I didn't? (Also considering that the chain lock on my door was broken, I think it's a serious concern.)

When I woke up in the morning, the cable and internet were finally back on, but the phone was still out. No idea what was wrong. Other problems: the sink in the bathroom backed up, and the closet door didn't open and close properly.

All in all: too many things wrong, and there are too many other hotels in the area for me to be able to recommend this one. Staying at a place like this makes you realize how much nicer the Hampton Inns and Fairfield Inns are.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

WOW..... this hotel's staff and conditions were awesome. I travel on business and this hotel was great. Let me start with the front desk staff... they were on top of every detail.
The room was larger than normal and had a refrigerator, microwave and sink in it. Also, every Wednesday they have a guest social in their breakfast area. During which you get to meet the management team of the hotel. I was quite impressed with the new sales person there. I felt that she actually cared about how my trip and day was was going. This is quite pleasant in the evenings when you get back from working all day.
The breakfast in the morning also features hot items, as well as your typical cold items.
This hotel is definately the place to stay in the Chantilly area. There is no restaurant on site, but a lot can be found in the general area.... some even in walking distance. It is also very close to the Dulles International Airport.

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank WorkCalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

Located just before Dulles Airport exit off of US Route 50W. Lot of government contractors in area.

Stayed here on US Government travel orders. Good alternative to the Residence Inn, which offers similar accomodations about one block away but govt rate is $199 per night; the Comfort Suites Govt rate is $159 per night.

Good buffet breakfast offering make them yourself waffles (with strawberries and whip cream!), bacon, potatoes, and eggs (eggs sometimes cold so may have to reheat in microwave) plus standard juices, hot and cold cereals and breads. Coffee and tea and milk also, of course. Has large flat screen HD TV if want to watch news at breakfast. Free USA Today newspaper.

Lobby not large but very comfortable; very nice chairs and nice place to relax. HD TV.

They have fresh baked cookies but only on Monday and Tuesday evenings!!

Exercise room and pool adequate.

Small business area with two computers with basic software and internet access and printer -- no charge! Residence Inn charges for similar.

Nice room. Had king size bed, very comfortable. Large TV with very extensive cable selections including several HBO alternatives. Standard size bath with standard shampoo, hand cream and conditioner. Room had small sitting area with microwave, sink for cleanup, coffee maker, and refrigerator. Room had iron and board. Clean and not noisy at least while I was there. High speed internet connection available.

No restaurant on premises but many nearby and several can be walked to (fast food and sit down). Had dinner both nights at Back Yard Grill was has decent if not great food, good beer on tap selection, and good atmosphere - walk from hotel is may 200 meters at most.

All in all, good hotel and reasonable price for area. Tell them to put out the cookies every night, for goodness sake!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MikeandYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

Our family of 5 chose this hotel based on reviews here and its location and we were not disappointed. We visited on a weekend when rates were very reasonable. It is very convenient to Dulles and the Udvar-Hazy museum and about a 10 minute drive to the Vienna Metro train station to DC. The room and bathroom was fine, and the fold out couch worked great as a 3rd bed for the kids. No noticeable difference from any other Comfort Suites that we have stayed at. Many shopping and dining establishments nearby. We did arrive at 3:30 and were disappointed that the small indoor pool did not open on weekdays until 5:00. They do use a lifeguard and open it from 10-10 on the weekends. We would have rather seen a hot tub than the sauna. The breakfast had the usual continental fare and 2 hot items (sausage or eggs and potatoes) as well as the infamous 2 minute waffle maker.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bcreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2006

There was no shuttle and had to pay for a cab. The pool hours were limited 5pm-9pm. Disappointed. Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tlccec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2006

Nice large rooms, good price, and good breakfast. I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WxProphet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chantilly hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Chantilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dulles Airport South
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Chantilly-Dulles Expo (Arpt)
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chantilly Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Dulles Airport

Address: 13980 Metrotech Dr, Chantilly, VA 20151-3238 (Formerly Comfort Suites Chantilly)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chantilly
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chantilly
#7 Business Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range: $83 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chantilly and just minutes from Dulles Airport, Comfort Suites Dulles Airport features comfortable and convenient amenities, included an indoor, heated pool, 24-hour fitness center and business center. We're also within walking distance to dozens of restaurants and retail stores. Explore Chantilly with our complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Chantilly Hotel Chantilly
Chantilly Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing