We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, clean and comfortable, some breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Value for money, clean and comfortable, some breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I paid 89 a night for this hotel for a multi-week stay and enjoyed it. This is one of the better long-term stay hotels in the area. For breakfast you are given yogurt, granola, nuts, oatmeal, apples and oranges, and I believe there are a few other options. It's basic but satisfying. The kitchen was well stocked and convenient. The bed was nice. I was in a room that had a smoker beneath it, but the front desk immediately took care of the problem and sent me to a different room. The exercise room is pretty sparse - a treadmill, an elliptical, and a bike, with a few hand weights; however, if you're a runner, the area just outside the hotel is great to run in. Very little traffic and some hills, so nice for an urban jog. The service and staff were all excellent. Enjoyed my stay and will stay there again, mostly because of the value and service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
26
8
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level Contributor
169 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while visiting D.C. to tour and attend a football game. We used our Marriott Reward Points for all three nights of our stay. I noted the very mixed reviews on this site before making my choice to stay here. For our purposes, it worked out very well. We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Upon arrival, we found that the beds were only queen size. We like a king or two double beds. The front desk person was going to allow us to have a suite with two bedrooms at no additional charge and/or points except one of the nights of our three-night stay was booked. I could not see making a room move during our stay so we stuck with the queen bed which worked out fine. The location was just fine for us as it was close to Dulles International and easy driving distance into D.C. We found the room to be very clean. It was cleaned on a daily basis and the sheets were changed. It was also plenty roomy for our needs. Yes, the TV was small but that type of thing really doesn't bother us. We were out of the room sight seeing most of the time anyway. There are a myriad of restaurants within a short driving distance and two immediately next to the hotel, Bob Evans and The Longhorn. We ate a Bob Evans twice enjoying it both times. The continental breakfast was nothing exceptional but both bananas and apples are available which we enjoy. Also, about mid afternoon into evening they set out freshly baked chocolate chip cookies which were delightful and coffee is available throughout the day. We'd certainly consider staying here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank durf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The surly housekeeping crew run this hotel. They complain about cleaning and generally refuse to do it. If you try to address the issue with management, they defend their housekeeping crew. From the dingy lobby, to the nasty breakfast, to the lumpy mattress, to the lazy housekeeping crew and obnoxious management, I can't imagine a worse or less professional hotel. warn all your friends and family to avoid this hotel. I've always considered Marriott's to be a safe bet, but not after this horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duncan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

A very solid choice, but nothing special. The hotel is clean and well-kept...however starting to show its age a bit. A little renovation with newer appliances/TVs would go a long way. I would stay here again, but there are some newer Marriott properties in area that might offer a better value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Migs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

If you are looking for an extended stay, I would choose a different hotel. The quality of customer service is very poor. Housekeeping is terrible. They only "clean" once a week. They "refresh" daily, if you call refreshing coming in and changing out towels and wash clothes. We took the sheets/pillow cases off our bed and expected to at least have a set of sheets left. What we got was a bed made up, when my husband pulled back the comforter there were no sheets on the bed. It was around 11pm so we had to wait until housekeeping came the next day to get sheets, as the front desk had informed us earlier in our stay they could not give guests any linens after 5pm. There have been other incidents. This is just an example of what they offer as "customer service". My husband does alot of traveling with his job. We stay at alot of different hotel/motels and we usually don't have many,if any, complaints about service where we stay. This is the first time we have experienced service so bad, I'm writing a bad review. Also, if you do not want to smell pet odors, do not stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I had just sold my house and was preparing for my retirement move to Thailand and needed a place to stay for about a week until leaving for overseas. Perfect location for me, and very near Dulles Airport, although the property does not have shuttle service to the airport (it's a $20-$25 taxi ride).

The place was pleasant with very helpful staff in the office, a bland but acceptable exterior, and rooms that were relatively pleasant with thermostats in both the living rooms and bedrooms. The kitchen was small but did the job. Living room furniture comfortable, although the televisions were quite small. The desk in the room was large and well designed for computer use. The bedroom was small, but I loved the very firm mattress. Hated the pillows.

The area is rich with restaurants within a short distance, as well as down-scale shopping, although one of the region's best malls is within a 15 minute drive.

I found the rooms relatively quiet, although the hotel is directly under the landing path for Dulles Airport. It didn't bother me at all, although it might some people.

All in all a very good stay and I recommend. Prices apparently drop the more consecutive nights you stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night in August, 2008 while driving from Orlando to Buffalo. We were looking for a room to sleep all five of us comfortably, and we got that and more.

We chose this hotel based on several factors: Marriott offered me a substantial discount as a card holder, the location was about right, the room size was perfect, and the reviews here were generally positive. This was the best deal I have ever had on a 2 BR suite. Room included queen beds in two separate rooms, and a sofabed in a small living area. Also full-size fridge, stove, dishes, cabinets, etc. Beds were very comfortable. Each room featured it's own television. High-speed internet was easy and free.

Service was really excellent. The woman who was on front desk (Miriam) was friendly, helpful and efficient. She arranged our wake-up call for us, and as we were leaving very early (before the limited breakfast is put out) she put together take-away bags of fruit, juice, yogourt and pastries which we got when we left at 6:00 AM. More than one expects, by far.

Downside: Location is not close to Washington, though not too far from parking at the Metro station off I-66. Suite was quite crowded--rooms are tiny. The building looks like it needs a facelift, and the walls and floors are pretty thin. We heard the family above us as they wandered around until 2:00 AM.

As we were paying very little, we didn't expect a palace. What we got exceeded our expectations and met our needs, and the service was excellent. For a limited stay with a family, this was a very good experience.

  • Liked — Price, room size, service
  • Disliked — Outdated furnishings, loud neighbours
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SSwith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chantilly hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chantilly Dulles Airport
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Chantilly
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South

Property: TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South
Address: 14036 Thunderbolt Pl, Chantilly, VA 20151-3225
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South is located just one mile from the Dulles Expo Center and ten minutes from Dulles International Airport IAD. Enjoy daily complimentary continental breakfast, spacious guest suites with fully-equipped kitchens and newly added furniture and accessories, luxurious Marriott bedding and complimentary internet access. Stay fit while staying in our Chantilly Suites hotel with a 24-hour fitness center featuring new equipment, outdoor seasonal swimming pool and jogging trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Chantilly Dulles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Chantilly Hotel Chantilly
Chantilly Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing