We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Historic Preservation is worth checking out.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sully Plantation

Sully Plantation
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Historic Preservation is worth checking out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We enjoy going to historic, preserved buildings. We walked around the property and had an interesting tour of the house. I took many notes for my photo scrapbook.

Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Accessible History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This plantation is right along Virginia Highway 28, a major local road connecting I-66 with Dulles International Airport. The buildings are well-preserved and the docents seem knowledgeable about the plantation era. It is also very close to the Udvar-Hazy branch of the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum. The hardy tourist could easily visit the past and the future in one day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Lesser Known Home of the Lees of Virginia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Sully Plantation is a rural island in an urban sea. From the tranquility of the site, one would scarcely guess that Dulles International Airport and a section of the National Air and Space Museum (the one with the space shuttle) are nearby. Sully was the 1794 home of Richard Bland Lee, brother of Henry "Lighthorse Harry" Lee and the uncle of Robert E. Lee. The house is not one of Virginia's great palaces, but that difference makes it all the more the interesting. It plainly was intended to be a country seat and it is elegant in its own, less ornate way. The relaxed atmosphere is reflected in the approach of the friendly tour guides, who even allow photographs inside the house! Sully comes recommended for those who would enjoy seeing a different slice of Virginia history than Mount Vernon and Monticello.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very pretty grounds with helpful and informative staff. I go every year to the car show that's held every Father's Day. If you're in the DC metro area with time to kill, it's a nice peaceful place to visit. However, I wouldn't plan a vacation around it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mgwrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A relaxing time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We've lived in the area for almost seven years, but finally took the time to go to the Sully Plantation. We were always going to stop by with out of town visitors, but it just wasn't happening. The tour of the home was great. Laurie did an outstanding job and was very informative. A walk around the grounds in the fall was lovely. Our toddler loved running around and checkout of all of the out buildings and fences!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Loserboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sully Plantation also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sully Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing