We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good South American Tapas and Sangria” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Churro Cafe

Don Churro Cafe
Ranked #17 of 147 Restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Spanish, South American, Colombian, Central American, Argentinean, Venezuelan, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 50
Description: Don Churro Cafe is a hidden gem located in Chantilly, Virginia specializing in authentic dishes from Peru, Ecuador, Venezuela, Chile, Argentina, Colombia, and Spain. Named one of the region's Best New Restaurants by Northern Virginia Magazine, Don Churro Cafe presents delicacies from the expansive dinner menu, such as ceviche peruano, empanadas and saltenas, gambas al ajillo, Ecuadorian llapingachos, bandeja paisa, and Venezuelan arepas. Homemade churros piped full of manjar blanco (caramel) or delicious Nutella are sprinkled with powdered sugar for good measure. To ensure the quality of our food, all dishes are cooked to order using the freshest ingredients. The chef uses canola or olive oil in all of our dishes, organic coffee in our specialty coffees and recycles all its cooking oil. Visit our menu and events at www.gotchurros.com or at our Facebook page and "Discover the most authentic delicacies of the Latin world without ever leaving your neighborhood."
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good South American Tapas and Sangria”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I recently had lunch at Don Churro, a South American and Spanish restaurant in Chantilly. We decided to split a variety of their tapas accompanied by their Sangria. We had the Chilena empanada which was filled with ground beef, olives, raisins, onions and eggs, the De Queso empanada, filled with queso fresco, the Arepas con carne mechada made with pulled beef, and the Causa de pollo, made of layers of mashed potatoes mixed with aji amarillo chicken, mayonnaise and avocado. All were good, but we especially liked the Chilena and De Queso empanadas. The Sangria was fruity and spicy. Service was excellent and friendly. Prices are reasonable. All in all a good experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dnialcdlo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Even good for the apprehensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband LOVES dragging me to ethic restaurants to see what the heck I'm going to choose to eat. We were pleasantly surprised! I was expecting Mexican type food and it was not. I'm not quite sure what it was although I think South American. The food was all very normal food everyone would recognize - just not necessarily together. For instance, my meal had seasoned chicken, rice, french fries, gravy, and fried plantains. It was amazing although I had never had all those things together. They were really good though! We actually went about a year ago and have been back at least 4 more times and I've ordered something different every time and have been happy every time! It's rarely crowded and the staff is friendly. There was once that everyone's food came out at different times. They were apologetic and gave us free dessert to make things right. The churro with Nutella was quite yummy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dnialcdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This restaurant has a critical management problem. The food is good however the service is very disappointing. Managers (female) needs to learn how to apologize to customers and provide an effective training to their staff (servers and cooks). During busy hours the restaurant’s management should be prepared for high volume of customers and manager should not expect that customers understand that the kitchen is busy. I waited for about an hour for my food after that I lost my appetite. The restaurant’s owners may choose not to pay attention to this post but if they do, honestly they should consider change the way how they operate this business.
I will never go back to this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

The arroz con pollo was underwhelming (bland and mushy), but the appetizers were tasty, as was the skirt steak.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good Food....Bad Dessert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This little restaurant seemed like a hole in the wall, but we were pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere and menu options (from many different South American Countries!). The tapas menu options were a little pricey, but my husband and I got the pulled beef on corn cakes, a baked potato stuffed with beef, egg, and cheese, and garlic shrimp. All three of these things were delicious! For dessert, we got the traditional churros with nutella and this flat cookie with a caramel cream in the middle. The cookie was very dry and bland. The churros were barely sugared and very doughy. Overall the meal was about $40 for 2 including tax and tip. The food itself was good, but expensive not filling and the desserts were disappointing, so I don't think we'll be going back. If you do go, skip dessert.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rinnegirl143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Churro Cafe also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Don Churro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing