We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy crap (worth the drive)”

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Holy crap (worth the drive)”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Took 40 minutes of fairly pretty driving from Washington to Chantilly and it was completely worth it. I should mention, it's also do-able by public transit too. My original reason to go was to see an old IMAX movie I saw 30 years earlier (The Dream Is Alive). That was a fantastic memory for me, and a genuine pleasure to be able to see it on Virginia's largest screen. The first thing you see when you walk into the main hanger area are the SR71 Blackbird and the Space Shuttle Discovery lined up right before you. I was only able to spend about 2 hours there, but you could easily spend twice that amount of time and really enjoy. They have everything from the Concorde to the Enola Gay. The Air & Space Museum back at the Washington Mall is a great warm-up or tease for this place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,990
    481
    58
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The leftovers for Air & Space are still excellent”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is the spillover location for the collection of the Air & Space Museum. Highlights include a Boeing 707, a space shuttle, a Concorde, and lots of satellites. The collection does not include as many historical aircraft as the Mall location, but it is still an excellent museum. This place is huge, but very well organized. Don't miss the elevator to the tower which overlooks Dulles runways. The museum is free, but parking is not.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Islandbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Huge warehouse of aircraft - for FREE”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here in August and had only about 1.5-2 hours to spend. I could have spent all day there. Some many great planes to see (SR-71, Enola Gay, Space Shuttle Discovery, etc). You can spend as much or as little time as you want from 1.5 hours to 4 hours especially if you read the placards about each exhibit. Worth a stop if you are in the Dulles area. Plus it's free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GregTrav28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bring your own food if you can”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The museum is Great. I went with my son and brother both of whom are fans. TBH I was expecting to be bored as I am not into Air and Space but I wasn't. It is a fascinating place.

Took in a Movie - Hubble which was AMAZING. Well worth the few quid. The staff in the Movie theater, the welcome desk, the store and around were extremely friendly and professional.

The McDonald's (the only eating place there) is a total Disaster.
I was there on a weekday in Nov and the place was quite quiet but the line for food in McDs was Massive the service was extremely SLOW the floor in both the food preparation area and the eating area was FILTHY the staff were sullen and slow. The food was COLD but I didn't have the will or patience to return it. Also standing in the line for so long left me exhausted.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Amazing place. So much history in one place. Great exhibition and good facilities. Discovery space shuttle is worth the trip

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beneno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing