We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Discovery of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I am a NASA fan, but this was the most wonderful experience, every kind of aircraft engine, and aircraft you can think of was here. From the Wright Brothers to solar gliders, of course the fabulous and awesome Space Shuttle Discovery, Apollo 11 the real capsule, you name it it is here. A Concorde, the Enola Gay, an old Boxcar, SR-71, the cockpit of a Goodyear Blimp.... the list goes on. Plan for a solid 5 -6 hours. If you read everything it will take you all day. It was 100's of planes, German, Russian, French, English I was mesmerized. They even have replicas of the first satellites. Then to top it all off there are four different movies in IMAX. This museum is worth the trip to find it by Dulles Airport. You can go up in the old tower and watch planes landing and taking off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank acuisinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,700
    455
    56
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Increadible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This the museum / attraction you must see to believe. It is a huge hangar like facility that has incredible aircraft in it. If you want to be feet from the Space shuttle Discovery, an SR-71, the Concorde, the Enola Gay, and many more historic aircraft, you need to go here. Take the 5A bus from Rosslyn or L’Enfant metro stations to Dulles and the shuttle from there to the museum. It will take about an hour 1 way on the bus. The museum will take 2 to 4 hours. See it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siteseer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venetia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't believe I spent the entire day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was looking forward to seeing the space shuttle, but this place had so much more to offer. We got there before opening allowing us some undisturbed time looking at the shuttle and then took a free guided tour which ran about an hour and half with a very interesting, knowledgeable docent. We were so engrossed with the place that my wife and I both went to virtually every individual plane/exhibit (and there are a lot of them) and read about almost everyone. I did not expect to find it so interesting. Highly recommend if you're in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Parker M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I still can't believe this was free admission!! You pay 15 bucks for parking but it was more than worth it. If you love aircraft then this place is the holy grail. It has a Space Shuttle (Discovery), an SR71 Blackbird, Concorde, The Enola Gay and just about every plane you can imagine. It's all well laid out with easy access plus the walkways are at different heights allowing for some great views of the aircraft. They run iMax cinemas too showing movies about their aircraft and there is a viewing tower that allows you to see for miles around. I can't say enough good things about this place. You need to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaliberbeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NICE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This museum puts the one down town to shame. If you are any bit an airplane or space fan, it's worth the trip. The Museum is free, just the parking is $15. But worth every bit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Postalg33k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing