We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe I spent the entire day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Venetia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't believe I spent the entire day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was looking forward to seeing the space shuttle, but this place had so much more to offer. We got there before opening allowing us some undisturbed time looking at the shuttle and then took a free guided tour which ran about an hour and half with a very interesting, knowledgeable docent. We were so engrossed with the place that my wife and I both went to virtually every individual plane/exhibit (and there are a lot of them) and read about almost everyone. I did not expect to find it so interesting. Highly recommend if you're in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Parker M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,387
    411
    52
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I still can't believe this was free admission!! You pay 15 bucks for parking but it was more than worth it. If you love aircraft then this place is the holy grail. It has a Space Shuttle (Discovery), an SR71 Blackbird, Concorde, The Enola Gay and just about every plane you can imagine. It's all well laid out with easy access plus the walkways are at different heights allowing for some great views of the aircraft. They run iMax cinemas too showing movies about their aircraft and there is a viewing tower that allows you to see for miles around. I can't say enough good things about this place. You need to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaliberbeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NICE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This museum puts the one down town to shame. If you are any bit an airplane or space fan, it's worth the trip. The Museum is free, just the parking is $15. But worth every bit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Postalg33k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“This is better than the downtown one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been to many air & space museums and this is the best. All sorts of stuff well displayed. There is a 50 cent shuttle between Dulles Airport and the Museum and free luggage storage (put a quarter in and get it back when you leave). MacDonalds on site.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not a fan of museums, but loved this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Planes, planes, history, planes.

I was sold when I saw the SR71 pointed right at the front door. I had to go down and stand under that monster. Holy s---!

If you like planes, appreciate planes, or more, you will love this place. And it is huge so it never feels crowded.

And don't forget to check out the NASA section.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 69-Mach1-lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing