We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
Book In Advance
$240.00*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I still can't believe this was free admission!! You pay 15 bucks for parking but it was more than worth it. If you love aircraft then this place is the holy grail. It has a Space Shuttle (Discovery), an SR71 Blackbird, Concorde, The Enola Gay and just about every plane you can imagine. It's all well laid out with easy access plus the walkways are at different heights allowing for some great views of the aircraft. They run iMax cinemas too showing movies about their aircraft and there is a viewing tower that allows you to see for miles around. I can't say enough good things about this place. You need to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaliberbeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,523
    434
    55
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NICE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This museum puts the one down town to shame. If you are any bit an airplane or space fan, it's worth the trip. The Museum is free, just the parking is $15. But worth every bit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Postalg33k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
271 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“This is better than the downtown one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been to many air & space museums and this is the best. All sorts of stuff well displayed. There is a 50 cent shuttle between Dulles Airport and the Museum and free luggage storage (put a quarter in and get it back when you leave). MacDonalds on site.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not a fan of museums, but loved this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Planes, planes, history, planes.

I was sold when I saw the SR71 pointed right at the front door. I had to go down and stand under that monster. Holy s---!

If you like planes, appreciate planes, or more, you will love this place. And it is huge so it never feels crowded.

And don't forget to check out the NASA section.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 69-Mach1-lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Plane & Space Geeks need to visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Traveling to Washington DC to see the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum we also spent 6 hours at the Steven F Udvar Hazy Center at the Dulles Airport. Now transport to the venue is limited and there is nowhere to store luggage so check into your hotel first and go back but it is worth every cent it costs to get there ( It is about $75 in a cab from Dupont Circle) or cheaper on the metro and takes about 1 hour 20 to get there on metro.
Everything form the Enola Gay to the Space Shuttle Discovery is on display. It is geek heaven. It is set out so you can see the planes from below and also above on walkways. Oh did i mention it is actually FREE so you only costs are transport and food (Macdonalds is the only on site food)
This was a highlight of our visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing