We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a fan of museums, but loved this one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
Book In Advance
$240.00*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not a fan of museums, but loved this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Planes, planes, history, planes.

I was sold when I saw the SR71 pointed right at the front door. I had to go down and stand under that monster. Holy s---!

If you like planes, appreciate planes, or more, you will love this place. And it is huge so it never feels crowded.

And don't forget to check out the NASA section.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 69-Mach1-lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,524
    435
    55
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Plane & Space Geeks need to visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Traveling to Washington DC to see the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum we also spent 6 hours at the Steven F Udvar Hazy Center at the Dulles Airport. Now transport to the venue is limited and there is nowhere to store luggage so check into your hotel first and go back but it is worth every cent it costs to get there ( It is about $75 in a cab from Dupont Circle) or cheaper on the metro and takes about 1 hour 20 to get there on metro.
Everything form the Enola Gay to the Space Shuttle Discovery is on display. It is geek heaven. It is set out so you can see the planes from below and also above on walkways. Oh did i mention it is actually FREE so you only costs are transport and food (Macdonalds is the only on site food)
This was a highlight of our visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Awesome aviation museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This museum is magnificent! It contains dozens of aircraft at three levels in a huge hangar-size building located adjacent to Dulles International Airport. They have it all-from hang gliders to the Concorde; from small rockets to space craft; from World War One bi-planes to the new F-35A attack aircraft. Admission is free, but there is a $15 parking fee. However, most nearby hotels offer free shuttles to the museum. Do not miss this if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SailorGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the best aviation museums we've been to!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was by far one of the best aviation museums we have visited!! Our family (5 people) found it amazing, we could have been there all day. I really liked the layout- the free flowing groups of planes and the openness of the space. Space shuttle Discovery was by far the best part. Our children ages from 4-13 were amazed with the whole museum. This one is a winner!
Highly recommended. Go at 4pm when parking is free, it will give you enough time to see everything, and it will cost you nothing. We loved it. This Air and Space museum was much better than the other one in Washington DC.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best museum ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very nice museum!
get there early and run to the second floor where you can get free tickets to the planetarium, than you can get your way downstairs enjoying all the ships and aircrafts!
best part is the apollo space ships... it is amazing to see the real lunar module and the pictures thy took from the moon,

very good dor kids either!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing