We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“"It's BEEN IN SPACE!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

That was the reaction of my family. We detoured here on our way into Washington DC just to see the Space Shuttle Discovery. What a great museum! My son really loved the different types of aircrafts used in the war, including one of the bombers that broke the sound barrier! The crown jewel is definitely the Space Shuttle Discovery.... my kids and husband were amazed to be so close to something that had been in space. :)

Admission here is free, but parking is 15$. Worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nightowl_RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,779
    461
    56
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Worth the visit to see all different types of aviation- from one if the shuttles to gliders to a 1 person, barely there helicopter. Museum was free: however, parking for $15 made up for that and a $5 very small box of popcorn (which I didn't buy) was crazy. If you're going in the afternoon, wait until 4pm- parking is free after 4.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank neonargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Definitely a must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This one is great, it's free, lots of parking, tons of air planes and it has a space shuttle! I came here by myself but saw many many families. I'm from LA and we have our own space shuttle but this was still impressive. There are so many planes to look at but my favorite part was the exhibit with all of the space program items like space suits, equipment and vehicles.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Super F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
175 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Home of the Space Shuttle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I almost missed this opportunity because it is a little inconvenient to get to this museum. There used to be a shuttle from the downtown DC museum but it was discontinued. There is a shuttle from the Dulles airport but it makes little sense to use that 'till the Metro gets out there. The $15 parking fee is reasonable compared to what you pay in the city. The collection here is priceless and mostly represents the largest aircraft of the Smithsonian collection including the prototype of the 707, the Concorde, the Enola Gay B-29 and the Space Shuttle Discovery. Seeing these and all of the other military and commercial displays was awe inspiring. The ex-military people they have doing tours are great to talk to and handle young and old very well. After visiting Air Museums in Seattle, Tucson, Wright-Patterson OH, and DC, I really like this one the best for it's broad collection and the size of the facility. Don't forget to take a ride to the top of the observation tower to see the take-offs and landings at Dulles but you might skip the air traffic control exhibit one floor below if you have children as it is fully enclosed and not very intuitive.
Take in an IMax film for a rest half way through your stay if three to five hours on your feet is not easy for you. This place is a national treasure that is not visited as much as it should be.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cruzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Must See!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is an incredible Museum! I've visited many times over the years and it generally just gets better!

The addition of the shuttle Discovery is just awesome! Seeing that alone is worth the trip. There are so many terrific aircraft it's really hard to take it all in.

Having said the above there are a few downers:

First you pay $12 to park (the museum is free). This doesn't go to the Smithsonian but to the contractor running the parking lot. Bummer.

Second the only food is from McDonalds. On a good day it's singularly forgettable. On a bad day, well, it's bad. Bring your lunch -- there are picnic tables.

Finally, and most disappointing, there are multiple errors of fact in the single case devoted to military women. Errors include: a blue patch identified as a WASP (Women's Airforce Service Pilots) patch is a contemporary fake and has very little similarity to the real thing. Next, a flight nurse uniform jacket is identified as a WAC uniform. Any woman who's ever served, WAC or nurse, knows darned well that a flight nurse is not a WAC and visa versa. There are other inconsistencies, but the lack of attention to historical fact is unexpected for the Smithsonian and is very unfortunate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soars37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing