We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for business travel, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine for business travel, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed one night for business.

Pros: Very close to the airport. They also had a free shuttle (goes every half hour) to take me to my client which was just down the street from the hotel.

Cons: Poor signage. I had a driver pick me up at the airport and drive me to the hotel and he had a tough time locating the actual hotel. There is a large sign off the main street, but when you turn onto the street, there are a number of hotels and this one had no signage on the actual building. The rooms were fine for one night. Walls were thin, so I'm glad my neighbors kept it relatively quiet. You could tell this is a very old hotel that was renovated, but it still has that musty smell you get with older hotels that are cosmetically renovated and not completely gutted. Wifi was spotty, which made it somewhat hard to work.

Food: They had a bistro inside the hotel and the breakfast was good and they served Starbucks coffee. For dinner, the front desk gave me a two page list of nearby restaurants, but when you just got off a plane and its late you just want something quick and close. I walked over to Longhorns across the street, which was my only real option without getting in a cab.

Overall: This is a fine hotel for a night of business travel, but I think next time I'm in town I will check out one of the other hotels on the same street.

Room Tip: I stayed in Rm 107, it faces the main street. I didn't hear any road noise, but unless you draw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaTech_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IADCA C, General Manager at Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Georgia Tech Traveler,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your travel needs. It seems your stay was both a hit and a miss in some ways and being the new GM my goal is to turn those misses into hits.

Unfortunately there isn't much we can do about signage from the road but we do have a pretty sizable sign on Rt 50 and also on the building. While I am glad you enjoyed your meal across the street I can assure you that our Bistro would have been equally as satisfying had you decided to stay with us and eat.

Our hotel has been recently renovated and does regularly score extremely well with customers in our cleanliness as we take greta pride in being a Marriott hotel and showing our "Spirit to Serve."

I do hope that you will give us another opportunity if you are travelling in the area again. We can easily assign you a room with a Courtyard view and you can rest easy on one of our brand new mattresses that were recently installed.

Thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to a return visit so that we can turn our previous misses to HITS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    71
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
20
20
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I initially booked a double room with a roll-away bed for a party of three, only to be told upon arrival that it would be impossible to add a roll-away to the room and we should never have been given that reservation. Fortunately, front desk was extremely accommodating and managed to get us a good rate on two lovely adjoining rooms. The rooms were quite nice and we were very pleased....until we were awakened at 2 AM by a staff person who UNLOCKED AND OPENED one of the room doors when they dropped off the bill and (as we discovered the next morning) then re-keyed the room! Why this was done at 2 AM is inexplicable. Thankfully, we had the extra lock up on the door so it couldn't open completely but even so, this was a very disturbing experience. We of course reported this to management the next morning and received profuse apologies, promises that the situation would be looked into, and assurances that we'd receive complimentary points added to our Marriott points accounts for our trouble. Except here we are a month later, and we've gotten no extra points and no follow up explanation about the incident.

I'd not avoid this hotel because it is very convenient and well-maintained and the front desk clerks were extremely nice and accommodating. Still, it seems communication is lacking and based on our experience, I'd be very wary of security if I was a woman staying here alone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelapancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IADCA C, General Manager at Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Pamelapancakes,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with our hotel. It is very unfortunate to hear that you experienced problems during your stay on two separate occasions. It is unacceptable for you to not get what you were originally expecting and then to be awakened in the middle of the night is equally acceptable.

My email address is cy.iadca.gm@marriott.com and I will gladly issue you the points you were promised back in November if you would send me your Marriott Rewards account number. I am the new GM at the hotel and would like to resolve this issue so that you and your family will feel comfortable coming to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and I look forward to hearing from you so that I can add the points to your account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very good location. Very convenient.

The building is an older build but it has been nicely renovated. It has the modern inviting Courtyard lobby. The rooms are very nice. The hotel is very quiet and very clean.

The internet worked when we arrived but it went down while we were out for the evening. The staff simply said they were working on it and didn't act like it was a very big deal. It is a huge inconvenience when the internet goes out unexpectedly when you're on the road and have work / further planning to do. We got by with our Blackberry and iPhone and with wifi at a nearby restaurant where we went for breakfast but it was still disappointing.

All in all the hotel is well-situated, the staff were helpful, the lobby is nice and inviting, the room was clean and updated despite the fact that it is an older Courtyard structure. Safe and secure. Quiet. The only complaint is the loss of internet and no great concern from the otherwise professional staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreFFmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IADCA C, General Manager at Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in spite of the internet problems you experienced. We have since made corrections to the network to avoid any futre problems.

I am the new GM here at the property and have taken steps to make sure that we continue to make improvements in the hotel.

I hope to have you and your family stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your travel needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Location was great for the needs of my visit. Love the pillows on the bed, decor is attractive but was totally grossed out by the dirty tub and dislike the little coffee pot in the room. I seldom gig the Courtyard but housekeeping needs to step it up.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVerschoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IADCA C, General Manager at Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your travel needs. It seems that we failed to meet your cleanliness standards during your last stay/review. I can assure you that we have improved since your last visit.

I am the new General Manager here at the hotel and we have taken steps to remedy any issues that were not resolved to our guests' expectations.

I know that it has been several months but if there is anything I can do to repair our reputation please do not hesitate to contact me at cy.iadca.gm@marriott.com

Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Excellent service, clean rooms, nice decor, a great place to stay at. Very convenient and close to airports and nearby attractions. There is a Starbucks bar in the lobby. There is a great choice of restaurants within minutes.The main road and highway are just minutes away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDullesCourt, General Manager at Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Reuben David R,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your enjoyable stay with our hotel. We will hopefully see you again in the near future. We will do everything we can to make your next stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a company meeting for 3 days at the Courtyard in Chantilly. It was very easy access to Dulles. The staff was outstanding. They bent over backwards to make sure everyone was happy with their rooms. We had a meeting room at the hotel also; they made sure we had everything necessary to make our time there successful. Lunch was catered by the hotel staff and was great every day. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDullesCourt, General Manager at Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Stephen R,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with our hotel. Hopefully your company will return to stay with us again. I'm sure this trip will be just as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisberry
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We planned to go to an event in downtown DC and then catch a flight from Dulles the next day. The Courtyard worked out very well. Upon arrival, our reservations were correct but they offered us a choice of floor and type of room that would best suit us for no additional charge. The front desk people were outstanding. The room was a typical Courtyard room - modern and spotless. Checkout was a breeze. Even though the hotel is only a few minutes from Dulles, we had no problem with airport noise. The only downside is that it is a bit far from DC on a road with lots of traffic lights. However, that was only a minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor near the back and did not hear any airport or road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chantilly hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chantilly Dulles Airport
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Chantilly
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly

Property: Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly
Address: 3935 Centerview Dr, Chantilly, VA 20151-3217
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chantilly
#11 Business Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Dulles Airport Chantilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Dulles Airport Chantilly Hotel Chantilly
Courtyard Chantilly
Chantilly Marriott
Chantilly Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing