We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best sushi around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matsu Japanese Restaurant

Matsu Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 107 Restaurants in Centreville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best sushi around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I love this place and go maybe two times a month. The service is friendly, the sushi is fresh and very reasonably priced and you get some extras that you normally have to pay for at other places (you get a serving of edamame and some fried wanton things to start your meal). Order the funky roll when you're there... it's a California roll deep-fried tempura style with two types of mayonnaise sauce on them. It's one of my favorite foods ever.

Two warnings though... 1) They are open for lunch and dinner, but they are closed for a few hours in between, so check the hours before you go. 2) It's normally really cold inside, so bring a coat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mysmissur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
161 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best sushi/sashimi in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant at least once a month when we lived in South Riding. Or we did take out. Now we don't get there too often. We miss it. The salmon sashimi is always excellent. We usually get sushi or sashimi, but have had the tempura and other dishes which are quite good. The teriyaki dishes have too much onion for me. The tempura batter is usually light and they usually use fresh oil to fry. We love the gyoza and naruto maki (cucumber, crab, egg) appetizers. Service is always excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A mixed performance, but worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a family meal here. The service was friendly and the food was pretty good. On the sushi front, they were out of toro, but the maguro and yellowtail were pretty fresh tasting. The best thing about this place is that the menu covers a lot of the simple popular dishes that some fancier Japanese restaurants do not make. A good example is katsudon. It's very basic food, but I love it, and I was thrilled to see it on the menu. It was pretty good. The curry beef on the other hand was pretty weak. The tempura was excellent - not soggy or greasy tasting. The yakisoba was not as good as you can easily make at home - edible, but not worth crossing the street for. So overall, average but it is really a mix of good and not so good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food here is great and the service is very good. The sushi is reasonably priced and aso very good. I very much reccommend going here.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Starloverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi in a Great enviornment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I admit to being worried when I moved out to Centreville - I was certain that all the food options would be chains and burger joints.

I was so pleased to find Matsu right in my neighborhood. I've dined there three times now and haven't been disappointed. The sushi is consistently fresh, they completely understand my special requests (none of that mayo-y schmear when I want something spicy and no cucumbers) and the price is very reasonable!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Matsu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing