We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matsu Japanese Restaurant

Matsu Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 107 Restaurants in Centreville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food here is great and the service is very good. The sushi is reasonably priced and aso very good. I very much reccommend going here.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Starloverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi in a Great enviornment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I admit to being worried when I moved out to Centreville - I was certain that all the food options would be chains and burger joints.

I was so pleased to find Matsu right in my neighborhood. I've dined there three times now and haven't been disappointed. The sushi is consistently fresh, they completely understand my special requests (none of that mayo-y schmear when I want something spicy and no cucumbers) and the price is very reasonable!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Too Too Funky Rolls, and more...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This modest Japanese restaurant is nestled in a suburban strip mall. We visited on a Thursday evening around 6:30pm without reservations and were immediately seated in the nearly full establishment. Inside the well-lit dining room there is ample room for a large party as well as intimacy for a couple.

The menu features a variety of Japanese fare - sushi, sashimi, tempura, salads, and several combination platters. Adult libations are limited to beer and wine. On our waitress's suggestion, we started with cold Ichiban and Sapporo beers accompanied by small hot sakis. Though unusual to me, the combination hit the mark. Our waitresses were very - almost overly - attentive during the ordering process, and made several passes to check on our meal. The Avocado Salad was deliciously topped with a sesame dressing that was near drinkable it was so tasty. The "Too Too Funky Roll" was the highlight of the meal - a crisped California roll stuffed with cream cheese, crab, and avocado topped with two deliciously creamy sauces. Our dinner sample platter featured buttery yellowtail, above-average tuna and salmon sushi, along with standard sashimi and a California roll. Overall, the presentations were wonderful - artistically pleasing and arranged just right on the custom curvaceous platters.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscriminatingPalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have eaten here many times and I have yet to have a bad meal. Ive been going to Matsu for at least 3 years and will keep going back as long as they are open. The staff is very polite and attentive, food is excellent..no complaints!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RifleGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Creative, Fresh, Delicious Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is our neighborhood gem! The sushi is always fresh, the service prompt and friendly. Their day specials are very creative. For the more experienced sushi eaters, they will accomodate off the menu requests. Ask the chef to recommend a few hand rolls-you will not regret!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maianga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Matsu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing