We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good food and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok City

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bangkok City
Ranked #25 of 108 Restaurants in Centreville
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Good Thai food, and prices are very reasonable. We usually get our food to go and take it home to eat it since the atmosphere is not memorable. very much worth the money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Food and Prompt Delivery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is our go-to Thai restaurant for delivery. We've never been inside, so can't comment on decor or table service, but can say that the folks who answer the phone are very helpful and polite. The food is always delivered within the time they say (usually about 30 minutes) and is fresh and hot. Everything we have tried over the years has been good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heiwahito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite food, superb service, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Is there a downside? Maybe that it is hard to discover,.....but easy to return to. Attention to detail was evident as soon as I entered and the wait staff was there instantly to seat me.

The tea was OK. The appetizers are nicely done, but the calamari could use some enhancing. The Garden rolls are translucent, crisp and fill the nose with Thai basil, complemented with an excellent peanut souce. The Pad Thai Thalay was a very pleasant surprise. The softshell crab atop a seafood Pad Thai made the day for me. The seasoning was as requested and I ate far more than I should and still had to bring some back to the hotel. The chef specials are worthy of testing. Each that I have tried were quite good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Earl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary nc
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very good puffy curry appetizers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Try this jewel at Centreville. It is delicious, nice place quiet good ambiance and the dishes are yummy. Try the puffy curry appetizer they are great. We had the special seafood green curry that was divine and for a reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scorneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A Regular Evening Out for Us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Bangkok City is an excellent Thai restaurant that is located in a small strip mall and makes a easy hop skip and jump from the Centreville Multiplex nearby. Catching a Thai dinner is a snap after watching a movie.

The dishes are spicy and made to order depending on what you like. We have the usual red curry, green curry and the Pad Thai but once in a way venture to try some of the different dishes on the menu as well.

Most of our party is vegetarian but not fastidiously so. Most of the vegetarian dishes also appear to have a fish sauce. The food is robust and tasty.

The service has been very good and the proprietor is usually at the bar and is happy to talk to customers. I would recommend this restaurant for predictably good food and the convenience of a nearby location.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shutterbug35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok City also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Bangkok City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing