We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Casual”
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
Ranked #2 of 113 Restaurants in Centreville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Upscale Casual”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I like this chain--especially Mikes and Sweetwater--for their menu selection and their good service. This visit was no exception. Ordered the steak on this occasion and it was cooked perfectly to order. Service was excellent. Atmosphere here is always fun.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank offthewalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    149
    35
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“the Model of Consistency”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I've been eating at this Sweetwater for the past 15 years, can't believe I've never reviewed it here. The service is always outstanding, and the food is always very good.

Cons first: I do wish they'd switch up the menu a little bit, I think its been the same for the past decade at least. Lots of quality on there but I've had it all!! Also, other than the pumpkin beer I haven't found anything worth taking a growler home. I always try whatever they have on tap but am mostly disappointed. Also, this is no good for big groups, I think after 6 you pretty much have to take 2 tables next to each other.

I really enjoy the chicken tenders, and no I'm not a little kid. Quality white meat chicken, not overbreaded, great honey mustard to dip. Shoestring fries are also great and always crisp.

I've grown up a bit over the years and now often get the Monteray Salad, which has those chicken tenders mentioned above on a bed of lettuce with avocado, corn, tomato, tortillas, cranberries, and spiced pecans. I sub out the ranch dressing for the honey mustard.

I also reccomend the lobster bisque (when available), short smoked salmon (really good dijon cream sauce), and pork chop. Although we rarely have room for dessert I love the Warm Flourless Chocolate Waffle with a scoop of fresh vanilla ice cream.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BareTruth0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great service”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, call in to make reservation and skip the waiting. The manager stopped by to offer us free dessert. Get the crab cakes!

Helpful?
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Centreville-Sweetwater”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This reastaruant is always busy and always packed for a reason. The reason is the food is great and the beer which they brew on site is also great. They have growlers and you can take this wonderful beer home for a decent price. They have two bars and because they have heaters and a clear cover on the outside bar it is open year round, but the summer is when its open air if you will and alot of people venture to this location. The two best things there in my opinion are the Fajitas and the rolls they give you before dinner. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Consistent food and Service”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Convenient location, great parking and consistent food and service. You can't go wrong! This restaurant group knows how to please - the food is always fresh, the staff is always pleasant and accommodating and the place is clean. Nothing will be outrageous or "new" but if you want sold, comfy food in a fun and vibrant atmosphere - c'mon down!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing