We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimp & Grits”
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
Ranked #2 of 113 Restaurants in Centreville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Clifton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Shrimp & Grits”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Excellent service and variety. Specialities of the house offered and very affordable. Atmosphere is fun and exciting and it's not noisy. Great place to take friends in from out of town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    151
    35
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, VA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The best food, crafted beer, service!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

These Great American Restaurants (Sweetwater, Coastal Flats, etc.) are all great in their own ways. The soups like the lobster bisque and chicken tortilla (served on specific days, see menu), the beer (I like the darker non-Porters, wife likes the Porters), the rimmed Christmas beer was really good! Some interesting and tasty appetizers. Entrees are all good. We don't get into desserts much but the chocolate dessert is delicious! The best hamburger I've ever had and the fries rival McD's! Impeccable service. When single I enjoyed watching sporting events from the inside bar and the outside bar. You will return!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viaggiante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great as usual”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Most everything great. Excellent customer service. Always a wait since so popular. Western flare. Brew beer on site.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jul2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great family place _ won't break the bank”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I LOVE SWEETWATER. Right now it is officially my go to restaurant if someone comes to town. great food great atmosphere . my husband fills his beer each visit at their microbrewery. I can get a great drink too. tastes fresh and hits the spot . I love that I can bring my four growing boys out to dinner and they can get a hearty meal _ burgers,ribs,steaks, you name it and they are full.then the bill comes and its under a hundred. for a family of six that is a good thing. high quality steaks and sea food. must do!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desiree007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lovely food, cooked just how you like it, all excellently prepared. They brew there own beers on site which are really worth a try. would recommend it.

Had a great back bar for after dinner drinks

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCORLETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing