We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Wine and Informative Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winery at Bull Run

The Winery at Bull Run
15950 Lee Hwy, Centreville, VA 20120-2137
(703) 815-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Centreville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Wine and Informative Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I enjoyed an afternoon of wine tasting. An excellent view as well of the sun setting over the Blue Ridge mountains.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravelerstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at TWABR and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    57
    13
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“There's nothing not to like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

About a great atmosphere, friendly staff, intriguing wines and right in the heart of Civil War history~ My fave is the Norton, my man loves the Chardonnay, but no matter what you get, you'll enjoy your time here. Especially if you visit when the J&A duo is playing -- pure perfection!

(although, on sunny days, it can seem a bit like an annoying chuck e. cheese outing with kids running all over the place, in and out of table spaces -- even sometimes spilling wine!) Try to get into the 21 & Over space and be diligent about asking the staff to enforce the age limit! (okay, so there is something not to like)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank's for such a great review, Peggie! We are glad you enjoyed our Norton, we are very proud of it as well as it is a Virginia varietal! Did you see we have 3 acres of Norton growing on the property while you were here?
We have different musicians performing every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday; you can check our events calendar and plan your next visit when the J&A duo is back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washimgton DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice local getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Close by but feels like you're in the country... Nice suburban getaway with friends or with family... bring your own food if you'd like. Be aware your car will be nice and dusty when you leave :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FremchIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! We are happy to be providing a local place to escape to and relax. Please do come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dissappointing to say the least.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I brought a group of ladies 11 ladies to the winery as a customer appreciation event. As much as I tried to work with the winery ahead of time, I did not get the response I needed in order to properly coordinate the event. I arrived on the date of the event only to be treated as though it was a pain to deal with us. The woman working at one of the counters could barely bring herself to look up from her work each time I asked her a question.
My entire group participated in a wine tasting and we had food catered in for lunch(catered by one of the preferred listed caterers). We proceeded to eat our lunch on the outdoor patio.
I purchased 18 bottles of wine and numerous gifts prior to leaving the winery and was never offered a discount (which I now see posted on their website as 10%). I spent over $1500 that day and never even received as much as a "thank you for coming".
I was very disappointed in my experience, as were my guests, and I will not be returning to the Winery at Bull Run.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaymeNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Jayme,

I'm sorry for your poor experience. I see from your reviews on Yelp that Jon looked to address your concerns. I hope that since then, you have been able able to join us again! Please let me know if there is anything else I can do.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Day Trip From DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had a few friends in from out of town and we went to Bull Run to do a day of wine tasting. When we arrived, we were informed that we could do the $12 wine tasting menu there or we could purchase a wine tasting card for 3 affliated places for $20. The passport didn't need to be used in one day - it was stamped at each venue and valid until all three had been visited. The locations were close enough together that doing all three in one day was very doable and enjoyable. I would definitely suggest the passport option. All three venues had friendly staff and a good selection of wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThomasH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you got to experience our winery and all that Northern Virginia has to offer. Hope to see you again soon! Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winery at Bull Run also viewed

Clifton, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Winery at Bull Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing