We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Day Trip From DC”

The Winery at Bull Run
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Centreville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Day Trip From DC”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had a few friends in from out of town and we went to Bull Run to do a day of wine tasting. When we arrived, we were informed that we could do the $12 wine tasting menu there or we could purchase a wine tasting card for 3 affliated places for $20. The passport didn't need to be used in one day - it was stamped at each venue and valid until all three had been visited. The locations were close enough together that doing all three in one day was very doable and enjoyable. I would definitely suggest the passport option. All three venues had friendly staff and a good selection of wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThomasH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you got to experience our winery and all that Northern Virginia has to offer. Hope to see you again soon! Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    78
    19
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with not so great wine”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I am in no way a wine expert~~but I know what I like. A friend of mine who is very knowledgeable about wine took me to Bull Run for a tasting. When our tasting was over we decided that there was not a wine worth buying a bottle of and opted to each have a glass while enjoying the beautiful and cozy atmosphere. Perhaps the wine here will improved~~this is a fairly new winery. Perhaps there is a delicious wine we did not taste. The woman who poured for us was very nice and well informed about each wine. It was so nice to sit by the fireplace on the comfy couch and chat with my friend. I would visit here again for the atmosphere alone. This is a perfect venue for a small, private event.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank princess008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. Glad to see that you enjoyed the service and atmosphere we were able to provide for you! We work hard to ensure great customer satisfaction in all facets of what we do here. Hope you come back again soon and find a wine you do enjoy! Please let us know if you do. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

With a busy work and personal schedule it can be extremely hard to find the right place to unwind and relax. If you're willing to drive a little way off I-495, you'll find your retreat. There are a few wineries in the area but very few that capture the experience of the area. If you're visiting DC or NOVA, The Winery at Bull Run is worth the detour. Set with a horse farm and trail on one side and the Manassas national battlefield on the other, TW@BR offers a unique escape. A fully functional winery with a warm receptive staff, it offers a great pit stop if passing through, or destination to spend a few hours. With a full patio and green-space TW@BR has small eats to enjoy after a tasting while relaxing in their Adirondack chairs. Surrounded by Civil War history TW@BR embraces the location and incorporates its image in the tradition. I've been here twice now and will try to make it back before winter. A good price point for the experience, TW@BR is a must-see for wine and history enthusiasts or those looking for that place to unwind.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinktravellife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your rave review! So good to hear what a big fan of TWABR you are! The history is so special to us here and it's great that you appreciate it as much as we do. I definitely recommend joining our Members club to get you in on the perks and discounts that we offer our members. This year we are planning tons of after hours events like comedy shows, magic shows, dinner and wine pairings, varietal tastings, etc. Members get special discounted tickets to those events too, but if you aren't ready to join the Generals club yet, make sure you get on our mailing list so you get updated on our upcoming events! Keep in touch we love to hear from our raving fans! Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Third visit to the winery...our daughter is getting married on site this fall”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our daughter fell in love with her husband to be and The Bull Run Winery when she moved to Manassas, We are delighted that she has selected the winery as the venue for her wedding and reception. Each time we have visited we have been enchanted by the beautiful setting, the very educated and friendly servers (so many wonderful teachers!) and of course, the wine! Looking forward to returning soon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review! Congratulations on your daughters wedding. It is our pleasure to be able to share in such a special day. We hope your truly enjoyed that and we'd love to see you back. We hope this can become a special place for you and your family as it is for ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

To me, this place seemed to have it all figured out.

We were greeted at the door and showed to an open spot where someone was ready to go with glasses to start the tasting. Despite being very busy they seemed to have things organized and running smoothly. The person who poured for us (I believe her name was Meg) was very friendly and when my friend expressed an interest in dessert wines she sent a staff person to pull an extra dessert wine to add to our tasting. We went as part of 'the great skedaddle'- wine on 29 promotion which was $20 for tastings at 3 wineries. Great value and they treated us just as well even though we paid a discounted price.

Besides the great service they had some decent wines and the location was really beautiful! We will definitely be back to enjoy a glass on their porch. I only gave it a 4 out of 5 because I didn't feel like the wines were quite 5 star quality and the prices were a bit high although right in line with what we saw at the other two wineries.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashlie0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our winery! It sounds like you had a great experience and it's delightful to see. Please join us again in the future, we hope that we can create a 5 star experience for you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winery at Bull Run also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Winery at Bull Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing