We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice decor, good service and great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlie Chiang's

Charlie Chiang's
Ranked #18 of 108 Restaurants in Centreville
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice decor, good service and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used to go past this restaurant on our way to the Giants Supermarket next to it. We finally did go in, a week ago. We were impressed with the modernistic decor and atmosphere. The restaurant is not very large but the tables are arranged nicely. Some are on a raised platform that gives coziness. There is a Sushi bar to the right as you enter and a beverage and alcohol bar across from it.

The restaurant was not very crowded when we went. It was a weekday night. The menu has a lot of variety unlike regular Chinese restaurants. The waitress was very helpful in selecting the dishes to our liking.

We like the modern decor that looked tasteful with soothing colors. It is a good restaurant for special occasions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Upscale and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food was good quality and very tasty. The service was prompt and friendly. I had the honey tempura chicken which was very tasty. The pork fried rice had an abundance of pork strips where I prefer cubes because the strips can be rather chewy. But the rice itself was tasty. I also don't care for peas in my fried rice which they had. The spare ribs and spring rolls were good. I was with a large group of people and everyone seemed happy with their meals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
597 reviews
411 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food under the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A great restaurant with great atmosphere and fabulous food.
The lighting (light fixtures) right on top of the table is great. You don't need a flash light to read your menu or to guess what you are eating. The presentation on the appetizers were very classy. The vegetables were very fresh and the sauces very tasteful. The wonton soup and egg drop soup had a fabulous broth. Not salty! The tempura shrimp dinner entree was beautiful. The service was outstanding. They make excellent fruity mixed drinks. And you don't leave the restaurant smelling like soy sauce. Excellent service! We went for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joselito1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My son loves the honey tempura chicken and I like everything on this menu. Never really crowded, a little on the expensive side but very good food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wilgusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
“Inconsistent!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The food used to be delicious and now it all tastes the same. No matter what dish you order the texture may be different but the taste is the same. Certainly has gone downhill in our opinion, especially in the delivery category.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank exicanMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Chiang's also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Charlie Chiang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing