We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pho Aura Cafe

Pho Aura Cafe
Ranked #14 of 110 Restaurants in Centreville
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This is a great neighborhood restaurant that is about a year old. The owners young man whose name is Thuan Nguyen and the phone is 703.378.0049
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Very good and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The food was very nicely presented and it tasted as good as it looked. The service was okay but, I had to ask them for refills on my drink. Other than that I would have given this place an excellent rating. Their are pleanty of choices on the menu more than the usual Vietnamese places. It seemed more upscale but, the prices were comprable to the other ones in town. I had some sort of a lemon grass chicken sub type thing and it came with a spring roll and rice. I really like the taste of the food. I was recomended this Vietnamese place from a Vietnamese girl who said they are the best in town and they don't use as much MSG as the others so you don't get headaches or feel thirsty. I can't wait to go back here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“small but packed with value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Their Pho is wonderful, but don't miss the spring rolls or the lettuce wraps. My standard is the beef pho or the ga, along with about 3-4 rolls. The vermicelli stirfried with seafood is also a big hit with our famil.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It is okay but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I read some great reviews from other fellow reviewers and i decided to try this restaurant. I had a lunch with my two kids. We ordered pho noodle soup and spring rolls. The rolls were overcooked and was dark brown drenched with aging cooking oil. Yet they were not hot. They tasted as if they had been premade and left to cool down for a long time. The soup was way too sweet. The depth of the flavor was apparently not there. The meats were dry and overcooked. The noodles were preformed into a ball and the soup was supposed to loosen them but it took zome effort to do so. I prefer Pho bistro even though their broth quality has been dissapointing lately.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ddkmdFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Too Authentic for my family's taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

This restaurant is family owned and their main chef is the mother of the owner. My son and my husband were not to thrilled about the Pho since it had too much favor to it. The vent of the restaurant is poor, once you leave the restaurant you smell like food.

We only ate there once and hasn't been back.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Washdc_mom1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Weird "steak" in vermicelli, but taste is good..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We just dined here tonight.. Service was good, our spring roll was good.. But our vermicelli (rice noodle) dish with steak was unlike I have had before.. The "steak" were thin slices of chargrilled "beef".. Taste was good, but the thin slices and marinate (lemongrass?) made the texture a bit strange..

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SalinaATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Aura Cafe also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Pho Aura Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing