We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but packed with value”
Review of Pho Aura Cafe - CLOSED

Pho Aura Cafe
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Description: This is a great neighborhood restaurant that is about a year old. The owners young man whose name is Thuan Nguyen and the phone is 703.378.0049
Restaurant details
Description: This is a great neighborhood restaurant that is about a year old. The owners young man whose name is Thuan Nguyen and the phone is 703.378.0049
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“small but packed with value”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Their Pho is wonderful, but don't miss the spring rolls or the lettuce wraps. My standard is the beef pho or the ga, along with about 3-4 rolls. The vermicelli stirfried with seafood is also a big hit with our famil.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It is okay but not great”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I read some great reviews from other fellow reviewers and i decided to try this restaurant. I had a lunch with my two kids. We ordered pho noodle soup and spring rolls. The rolls were overcooked and was dark brown drenched with aging cooking oil. Yet they were not hot. They tasted as if they had been premade and left to cool down for a long time. The soup was way too sweet. The depth of the flavor was apparently not there. The meats were dry and overcooked. The noodles were preformed into a ball and the soup was supposed to loosen them but it took zome effort to do so. I prefer Pho bistro even though their broth quality has been dissapointing lately.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddkmdFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Too Authentic for my family's taste”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This restaurant is family owned and their main chef is the mother of the owner. My son and my husband were not to thrilled about the Pho since it had too much favor to it. The vent of the restaurant is poor, once you leave the restaurant you smell like food.

We only ate there once and hasn't been back.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Washdc_mom1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Weird "steak" in vermicelli, but taste is good..”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We just dined here tonight.. Service was good, our spring roll was good.. But our vermicelli (rice noodle) dish with steak was unlike I have had before.. The "steak" were thin slices of chargrilled "beef".. Taste was good, but the thin slices and marinate (lemongrass?) made the texture a bit strange..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalinaATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and decor but why do they always overcook the noodles?”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife lives for good noodle soups, which is why we eat at so many Korean and Vietnamese restaurants. In Northern Virginia, most pho restaurants are very spartan and definitely not something you would associate with finer dining. When I first walked into Pho Aura however, I was very impressed with the décor and relaxing ambiance. It has that upscale restaurant appeal yet the menu is quite reasonably priced. I really wanted to love this place.

Since we always order pho and summer rolls, I can’t comment on most of the menu. They did have an impressive selection of dishes though. The summer rolls were very good, but unfortunately the pho was consistently served with overcooked noodles. Soft and chewy is what I’m looking for but they just didn’t seem to have the right consistency, and once started breaking apart while using chopsticks.

I will probably return but may ask for the noodles to be cooked a little less.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FudRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Aura Cafe also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing