We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding Service, Really Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Canyon Grill - CLOSED

Copper Canyon Grill
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Really Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you follow my reviews, I generally do not review, restaurants, based on one experience but rather wait until I have at least two or more experiences. I have been to the Centreville Copper Canyon Grill at least five times and believe I can share a fair evaluation based on experience.

The service at this restaurants is outstanding. The appetizer arrived within minutes of providing our order to the server. The wait staff kept our water and/or soda glasses filled consistently throughout the evening, yet we never felt rushed. Following the appetizer, our meals arrived within a reasonable amount of time and are always well prepared.

The entrees are very good though if you are expecting an out of this world experience, that is not what this restaurant is about. It is about, in my opinion, consistently good menu selections and execution throughout the menu. The Centreville location delivers this consistently.

As someone that has been afforded the opportunity to eat at some of the best restaurants throughout the world, it is nice that when I get home, I can go to this restaurant and leave feeling that I received great service, a really good meal, all at a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ndavis001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
605 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Good wait staff, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The wait staff at Copper Canyon have always been nice, pleasant and helpful. They work in a team concept and your water glass is never empty. The food on the other hand is not as good. The chicken is cooked on the rotisserie there in the dining area and is ok and the steak is normally ok, but it also comes with a massive amount of mashed potatos and a couple of overdone, tasteless vegetables. This is a place I want to like and keep giving last chances to, but I don't think I will be giving them another last chance after their next one.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
374 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service, prices are a bit high”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have eaten here many times and there is a lot to like about this restaurant in my opinion: they have outdoor seating on the patio when the weather is nice, and there is a firepit there that is nice as well; they take reservations, and you can also use Open Table to make reservations; in general they do not seem to be nearly as busy as other restaurants in this area of Centreville so it is easier to get in without waiting; the food is good quality and the service has always been excellent.

My only real complaint with Copper Canyon is I feel the prices are a bit high. Last night my wife had a New York strip steak and I had a burger. I had one beer, she had a soda - we had no appetizer and no dessert - the bill was $52. My burger was $14 and, while good, it is no better than one I can get elsewhere (Main St Pub in Clifton, Sweetwater Tavern, Coastal Flats, etc) for about $10. Several appetizers, not fancy, are in the $14 range as well.

We like Copper Canyon because, as I mentioned earlier, the food is good, the atmosphere is nice, they are accommodating with kids, it is usually not as busy as other restaurants in the area, the outdoor seating is nice, they can accommodate fairly large groups, and the service has always been top notch during our visits. I just think that, in general, they charge too much compared to other similar choices in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good food and excellent service. The smoked salmon was fantastic. Has outdoor seating by gas firepit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Delicious! Beautiful intimate atmosphere, but kid-friendly at the same time. Service was fantastic and beef tip salad was unique and very flavorful. Will definitely return to try rotisserie chicken!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank talattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Canyon Grill also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing