We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KELLY'S GINGER NUT PUB”

Kelly's Gingernut Pub
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“KELLY'S GINGER NUT PUB”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great food. Great atmosphere. Very local and lots of fun. Always recommended in Cape Charles. Great service and creative dishes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    140
    56
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Kelly's is Great”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in at Kelly's Bar for a late lunch. Filled up on soup and appetizers. The "She Crab" soup was great and the portions were generous. Will try the salads next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Great Establishment!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are looking for great food, a wide variety of spirits, exceptional live music and a superb staff, Kelly's is the prime spot to visit while in Cape Charles. On my first visit I was welcomed warmly and very impressed with the overall ambiance. Whenever I'm visiting The Eastern Shore of Virginia I make sure to include a visit to Kelly's Gingernut Pub. Make sure to ask for Gene!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G58B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
1 review
“Great family dining and entertainment!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I have been frequenting Kelly's for six years now. It is hands down,our favorite place to eat, as well as be entertained, on the Eastern Shore of Va. The menu contains some consistent classics, such as the Cream of Crab soup (to die for) and the Crab and Brie Burger, but the menu is always kept "fresh" with new additions and specials that reflect the creativity and culinary expertise of the chef, as well as the freshest ingredients in season. Kelly's is a not only a great place to eat with a group of adults, but they also offer excellent service for children and families. In our experience,the wait and bar staff are very professional; they are knowlegeable about what they are serving, are both accomodating and friendly, and they always go the extra mile.

Kelly's has a really amazing atmosphere. Located in a renovated 100 year old bank, it is decorated in a casual, yet artistic style that reflects the personality and experiences of the owner, Gene Kelly. Kelly's embodies the true "Irish Pub" feel, but seamlessly and successully marries this cultural Irish theme with Gene's distinct sense of American pride, as is reflected in the photos and memorabilia on the walls. It is a very cool, very welcoming little spot, to say the least.

Gene and his staff also work very hard to recruit and attract remarkably talented live musicians to entertain on most weekends and holidays. On these nights,a visit to Kelly's embodies a truly cultural experience, mixed with relaxed merriment. The musicians can quite literally blow you away with their talent, and then a few minutes later, possibly enjoy a beer with you at the bar while they take a break. No one is a stranger, and everyone is invited to relax and enjoy the music with locals and visitors alike. If you don't know people when you come, you are sure to have met some truly great people by the time you leave.

(* Late night musical entertainment consists of an adult crowd.)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy_H468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food, amazing people!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've been to Kelly's more times than I can count and I look forward to each time. The people are always attentive, helpful, and enjoyable. Gene knows how to keep the place fun and real. I've never had something on the menu that I didn't like. It's not McDonald's, so don't expect that your dinner is going to be served the minute you sit down, they take their time to cook everything right and it's worth it. Enjoy a drink from the bar and the company you are with while you wait. I've never been disappointed and I'm looking forward to this summer season and going back again and again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TreeLo1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Gingernut Pub also viewed

 

Been to Kelly's Gingernut Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing