We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meals”

Kelly's Gingernut Pub
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good meals”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

A converted bank which exudes friendliness and warmth with good meals to boot. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    143
    59
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackstone, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best she-crab soup EVER!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We ate here upon the suggestion of our inn-keeper and was NOT disappointed. The entrees were delicious, but the she-crab soup was SOUPER!!!!! truly the best I have ever eaten. Also, their was live music after 10 and an eccletic crowd there supporting them. I highly recommend Kelly's Pub!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, service a little spotty”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I think those girls are just distracted, both times we ate there our waitresses went off to get us something, never to return with it. Good thing we share germs because we couldn't wait for a second spoon to enjoy that she crab soup. Well worth the $8 tag, loaded with crabmeat and not drenched in sherry that covers up "stuff". Fresh and way yummy. My goat cheese salad was very fresh and had plenty of yummy dried cherries, goat cheese and pecans. Dressing on the side was just the right amount. Husband's crab and brie topped hamburger was a little overcooked but he did enjoy it. I had a very good steak the second time we visited, and husband had a big tuna steak that was cooked to order. We both enjoyed desserts that were brought on the house because they forgot to bring the crab soup we'd ordered. We'd go back, and just stay a little more on top of the service than we did.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank weekend_warrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nothing bad to say at all!”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have come here twice now, the latest having been this past Dec 24th, both times were great! The service we had was perfect, very attentive and outgoing. The food was also very good, I had the onion soup, delish, and the crab cake sandwich which I thoroughly enjoyed, they have especially good tartar sauce! I also had sweet potato fries, which were perfectly crispy on the outside! We visit Cape Charles a few times per year because of family, and this is one of the handful of restaurants we will go back to for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beentheredonethat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best neighborhood put EVAH.”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

It's in an old bank, great beers, great servers, it IS the pub that you want to have on the corner of your street, except it's not there, it's in Cape Charles

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank tmbcktt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Gingernut Pub also viewed

 

Been to Kelly's Gingernut Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing