We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aqua Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Restaurant - CLOSED

Aqua Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Aqua Restaurant is Now The Oyster Farm Seafood Eatery. In 2012, the 39 acre Dining & Marina complex in Cape Charles (which included the Aqua Restaurant) was purchased and renamed The Oyster Farm At Kings Creek. The Aqua Restaurant was renamed "The Oyster Farm Seafood Eatery. Wrapped in the natural beauty of Virginia's Eastern Shore on Chesapeake Bay, The Oyster Farm Seafood Eatery serves the freshest and finest cuisine available. Our chefs and staff continually seek out and utilize quality local ingredients, adjust them seasonally, and prepare them tastefully to present our patrons with the best that Eastern Shore Virginia has to offer. Our waterfront restaurant provides diners with spectacular views of Chesapeake Bay and its breathtaking sunsets. Our cuisine offers something to meet every dining mood. - Leisurely lunches on the beachfront deck - A casual stop at our Oyster Bar where local watermen provide freshly harvested Virginia shellfish - A relaxing cocktail with friends at our beautiful bar - A candlelit dinner with that special someone The Seafood Eatery has a casual but elegant ambiance and a wide variety of fresh seafood, steaks and other non-seafood dishes prepared and served by a friendly, attentive, professional staff that keeps locals and visitors to Virginia's Tidewater Region coming back time and again.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Aqua Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My sister and I went here for her birthday on a trip to Cape Charles. The place is beautiful and has a wonderful view. The service was very slow, but the food was wonderful. We had the oysters rockafellar and thai style shrimp for an starters and it they were both wonderful. For dinner I had the bbq style shrimp with grits. The bbq sauce was great, but the grits were my favorite part. My sister had the organic scottish salmon with rice. She said the salmon was wonderful and cooked perfectly, but the rice did not have a lot of flavor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    66
    29
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The restaurant has a great view. You can sit outside on the deck or inside with it's all glass rear and watch the boats. It's a nice experience.
The food is good, not amazing, but good and the staff is friendly. It's a nice place to have a quiet lunch and take in the scenery.
I had the soup of the day, a crap and lobster bisque, which was tasty. The crab cake sandwich was a lunch special and came with a lemony salad on the side.
My husband and mother in law both had some steamed local clams and the fish tacos. Everything was nice and everyone was happy.
We'll come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank breegreenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tasty and beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I were very lucky when we decided to stop for lunch on our way home from Delaware. Thanks to tripadvisor we selected this wonderful gem on the Chesapeake Bay. Great food, excellent staff and a killer view. We will be back soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great oysters and beautiful views. What more can you ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

A combination of GREAT local oysters, beautiful views, and an attentive staff make Aqua a worthwhile destination. The local oysters and clams, harvested directly from the area surrounding Cape Charles, were some of the best we have ever tasted. Sweet with a hint of brine, these beauties rival any oyster selection from the Prince Edward Islands OR the Oregon coast.

Mike, our premier wait staff, steered us to these scrumptious menu items; sharing his knowledge of the local aqua culture of the area and really helped to make a great meal extremely memorable. We highly recommend Aqua when passing through the lovely town of Cape Charles and don't forget to ask for Mike. They are both keepers!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OK2BU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Sunset Paired with Good Food and Wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I recently dined there on the eve of the annual Between the Waters Bike Ride. Our plan was to take in a great Fall sunset, load up on protein accompanied by a nice bottle of cabernet. We scored well on all fronts. As the sun quickly dipped below the Chesapeake Bay our starter course of seafood in a mornay sauce over puff pastry was quite wonderful. For $10.00 it had a generous portion of shrimp & bay scallops. The mornay sauce was well seasoned and nicely complimented the puff pastry. For the main course, I chose a ribeye steak, $29.00 and my wife had the flounder special. (The flounder is fresh and comes from Hampton, VA.) Both dishes were well prepared. The menu at Aqua has something for everybody and a broad price range. Fish tacos & hamburgers are at the low price point at $12.00, with steak and some fresh seafood dishes topping at around $30.00. Aqua also has a small but well rounded wine list with full bottle prices ranging from $22.00 - $180.00 The mark-up varies, but averages around 40%. So, if you know your wines, you can find some good value. We selected a Decoy Cabernet for $60.00. Our only complaint are the wine glasses. They were small and not well designed for letting the wine open & develop in the glass. I asked the waiter if he had larger glasses and he fortunately was able to find 2. I really find this surprising as they serve Caymus and other big reds on the menu. Nonetheless, it was a very nice dining experience and will definitely return on our next trip to the Eastern Shore.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowbliss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing