We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop at Sting Ray's”

Sting-Ray's Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 27 Restaurants in Cape Charles
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Sanibel, FL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stop at Sting Ray's”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our friend told us, "you must stop at Sting Ray's!" as we headed up the DelMarVa Peninsula. We are glad we did. The food was good, not expensive, the people working there were very nice.
Gift shop had some fun items.
Bathroom were "meh" adequate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    120
    62
    40
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't let the fact that it attached to a gas station put you off.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My family really enjoyed our meal here. The service was excellent and prompt and the portions were generous. There was definitely a good mix of locals and tourists and was very busy (always a good sign). We enjoyed the busy atmosphere and watching the local people interact. I had a fried seafood platter with shrimp, scallops, and crab cakes and was very pleased. A great way to start off our vacation!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JandKHaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You know its a good place when......”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

When you are on a business trip in Delaware, and people there tell you to travel through two states to visit this place. Good food, has some original recipe ideas....try the sweet potato biscuits, very well done. The down east style clam chowder is also quite good there. Daily specials, and staffed by a group of people that knows their stuff!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aquariumgravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A local eatery”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Decent food for a decent price but the atmosphere leaves something to be desired. Many of the locals eat here so you know the food must be decent. Try the fried chicken - it's always good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Missmycows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Awesome catering”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had eaten at String Ray's while visiting family in Cape Charles in the past. We had them cater our son's rehearsal dinner this week. We rented a house at Bay Creek Resort and hosted the dinner there.
The menu was fried chicken, potato salad , hush puppies, corn on the cob. They also did delivered eggs, chilled shrimp and a veggie platter for us. Our guests were thrilled. We had them stay and serve which made it super easy for us. The staff was wonderful and the food excellent. The price was very reasonable. We could not have been happier with String -Rays!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maryfrommnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sting-Ray's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sting-Ray's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing