We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent Stay In A Quaint Town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We've stayed in Cape Charles before on our way north/south via the Chesapeake Bay Bridge/Tunnel but decided to try another one of the B&Bs in town. We totally enjoyed meeting Bruce & Carol and hearing of their experience as inn owners and some history behind Cape Charles and the Cape Charles B&B. The room we were assigned was nice and served us well. Breakfast was great and filling as well. We even enjoyed meeting Mr Kitty when HE decided to introduce himself. Dinner was in town at the Irish pub where we had a excellent Sheppard's Pie. Following dinner, we took our cameras to the beach for some sunset picture taking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 102JOE102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 306 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Forget I 95 up and down east coast of US, take US 13 through Virginia peninsula and stay and cape Charles inn b&B, about 10 miles north of Chesapeake bay bridge/tunnel, which is pretty neat. Place is clean, quiet, owners VERY friendly and helpful, 5 sleeping rooms, good common areas including wrap around porch, delicious breakfast, and cape Charles is a pretty town right on the Chesapeake. very nice B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomibaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecharleshousebb, Owner at Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

We are so pleased that you took the more senic route and found Cape Charles. Our pace is defnitely slower and we consider ourrselves in a time warp of about 50 years! It's always a pleasure to welcome folks from Pennsylvania. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed in the inn last weekend for a mother/daughter weekend. From the moment I spoke to Bruce on the phone I was excited to be there. Carol and Bruce are the most amazing hosts I've had the pleasure of dealing with. Oh, when they say breakfast is included be prepared it is plenty of food and delicious. It is truly a gourmet breakfast! (I left there with the recipes). They made our dinner reservations, served wine with cheese and crackers (homemade I must add) and cookies when you return home at night. They tell you to make yourself at home and you just can't help but doing so. The rooms are all very lovely. Well decorated. The beds are VERY comfortable. Plenty of hot water for showers. The house is elegant and filled with antiques. Carol can tell you amazing stories of her family with certain pieces in the house. They put their heart into every inch of this B&B. I almost hesitated to put a comment out here because it is a well kept secret. The town is small so you can get around with no problem. We stayed up and talked with them during the evening hours. It was like laughing and talking with your own parents. We loved it! One last thing - her muffins are to die for!!!!!! You will not regret meeting the owners of this historical inn and be a guest in their very large home.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisBeckH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecharleshousebb, Owner at Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

It was truly our pleasure to welcome the Mothers and Daughters! We loved hosting your very special getaway and enthusiam for our town and Inn as the "best kept secret". Hope you will stay another time and so we get to share more recipes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We needed to escape the cold and snow of Southwest VA after missing a Valentines
Day trip. Cape Charles House exceeded out expectations. Carol and Bruce were just the right blend of friendly, efficient and hands off. Carol's breakfasts were absolutely delightful and the wine and cheese at the end of our day was just the right touch. The rooms were all lovely and the living rooms were comfortable without being fussy. Their knowledge of the area was a great addition to our guidebook! I can hardly wait to go back for Garden Week.

Room Tip: The bathroom in the Alexander Cassatt room is small, go for a larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecharleshousebb, Owner at Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

It was our pleasure to welcome you to sunnier weather and the first blush of spring. So pleased to hear you are interested in Historis Garden Week on Virginia's Eastern Shore! There is no other place like it! You would not believe the historic gardens and incredible tucked away homes on the water. We would love to welcome your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was traveling on business, and staying with Bruce & Carol turned this work trip into a relaxing getaway for me. I felt honestly at home minutes after walking in. The B&B is in excellent shape, and the historic feel of the house makes exploring just where I was staying an enjoyable way to relax. My two breakfasts were beyond excellent -- I mentioned that I had not had a breakfast like this since Vegas, but this was even better.

Perhaps most importantly, my hosts were simply two of the most pleasant, open and hospitable people that I have ever met. Even without the great food and atmosphere, Carol and Bruce would make any building in the world feel welcome.

I absolutely can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecharleshousebb, Owner at Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Well Kevin, we are just going to have to try to get you back to Cape Charles for more business so we can have another chance to WOW you for breakfast! So pelased to know you felt so welcome as a business traveler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A weekend at this bed and breakfast with these very special innkeepers will leave you feeling refreshed, pampered, well fed, and you will not want to leave without making a return reservation. My husband and I have stayed in many B & B's throughout the U.S., this ranks #1. Carol is truly a cooking genuis, and the way she and Bruce work as a couple, and a team make the entire stay a coordinated masterpiece. The property is also perfectly located, walking distance to the beach, church, coffee shop, workout facility, and fun and funky pharmacy and shops. Also, the top quality bedding and quietness of the location tucks you in for a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Splurge for the room with the jacuzzi tub. So worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecharleshousebb, Owner at Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

How wonderful to be your #1B&B in all your travels! What a special visit we had with you, sharing stories and our amazing Eastern Shore! Hopefully you will return with warmer weather and enjoy the beautiful bay beach and maybe visit Chatham Winery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Enjoyed our stay in the Julia Wilkins Room quite a bit! It's a decently sized suite and suited our introverted needs quite well. Sometimes we skipped daily exploration of the area in favor of reading in bed, and that was exactly what we needed. Carol makes some tasty food, man, and there's a variety of meals prepared daily. Afterwards, a two-person jacuzzi soak is most delightful. Cape Charles itself has some lovely sights & shops, and this b&b was a perfect play to stay. Could've used a key to come & go as we placed 24/7, but that's a minor quibble - the presence of Mister Kitty is enough of a reason to visit!

Room Tip: Lower the curtains for a peaceful, cave-like experience - slept like a rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewA861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Charles hotels
4.4 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#4 of 7 in Cape Charles
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fig Street Inn
Fig Street Inn
#3 of 9 in Cape Charles
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 9 in Cape Charles
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alyssa House Bed and Breakfast
Alyssa House Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 9 in Cape Charles
19 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 645 Tazewell Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range: $140 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recepients of the Governor's Award and as seen on HGTV. Escape to romance and comfortable elegance in a small Victorian town on the Chesapeake Bay where you can enjoy beach fun by day and stunning sunsets in the evening.Guest rooms with sitting areas, individual climate control, private bathrooms, some with Jacuzzi. Afternoon wine-down with handcrafted Boursin cheese, sumptious gourmet breakfasts. Rent a golf cart to discover quaint shops, town harbor, galleries and restaurants. Visit near-by boutique wineries and taste their award winning wines. For the more adventurous, consider a wine tour by kayak. Discover the tucked away gardens of Eyre Hall, beleived to be the oldest coutinuously maintained garden in Virginia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing