We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still AWESOME!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Ranked #1 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norfolk,VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still AWESOME!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We just spent another grand weekend at Bay Haven. Everything is just as great as our last stay there ..... accomodations were warm and cozy, the breakfasts wonderful and filling, and Jim & Tammy are just as delightful as ever! The Christmas décor is beautiful! Tammy facilitated our participation in the Cape Charles Progressive Dinner Holiday Tour and it was absolutely delightful. We definitely feel welcome and at home there and consider Jim & Tammy friends.
Ed & Betty

Room Tip: All three rooms are great...you won't go wrong with either of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
188
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The history and beauty of this Inn can not be improved. Tammy and Jim have made a beautiful home away from home in this B&B. The Inn was decorated for Christmas and all of the decorations were perfect in every room. The loving attention to every detail was obvious. They love their Inn and everyone who stays there will love it, too.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We came to Cape Charles for a wedding and were so lucky to find this gem!
At our arrival, we were immediately taken aback by the charming curb appeal of the home and garden. Our experience only got better as we met Tammy and Jim who made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Alyce Wilson room which I quickly dubbed "the happy room" due to its beautiful decor and the natural light streaming in from all sides. The house and room were well put together and very clean. Tammy and Jim are the definition of hospitality and Tammy made great suggestions for places to go around the small town.
The Bay Haven Inn was more than what we had hoped for and it made the weekend that much better. We couldn't help but smile from check in to check out and were sad to say good bye.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aariosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

bay haven inn is a top-notch bed and breakfast. tammy and Jim are excellent hosts, the rooms were fabulous, environment was restful and comfortable, the gardens are spectacular, and the breakfasts was the best I've had in a long time.bay haven inn is certainly a place to visit and stay in Cape Charles

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalibutOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

First of all let me start by saying this is one of the few B&Bs in Cape Charles that does not have house cats which is very important for me since I am extremely allergic to these furry fuzzy four legged friends! I admit I was never a big fan of B&B….., until now! This was our first time visiting Cape Charles, and Bay Haven Inn was the perfect place for a relaxing weekend getaway. This is a beautiful home, in a great location (only 3 or 4 blocks from the beach), and wonderful hosts. Tammy and Jim were very gracious, and made my wife and I feel right at home. They have set the bar very high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahram99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappahannock
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband wanted to show me the Eastern Shore, so we spontaneoulsy took off without a plan, destination, or reservations. We arrived in Cape Charles and had brunch at Shanty's-what a magnificent brunch of soft shell crab benedict. We entered into the town of Cape Charles where we encountered Margaret-she schedules kayak and wine tours. We named her the "official" spokesperson for Cape Charles because she was so knowledgable of the area, so helpful, and truly had a love for Cape Charles. We attempted to make reservations at the local hotel, however it was closed for repairs. My husband proceeded to call an area B&B-which was Bay Haven. Jim was able to accomodate us immediately and we arrived at Bay Haven in just a few minutes. What an absolutely magnificent home and beautiful garden! It backs up to the town park and is just a couple blocks from the public beach. We took a sunset walk through the park and to the beach. Went to dinner at Aqua-the atmosphere was very serene. After a wonderful nights rest, we took a sunrise walk, drank coffee on the frontporch swing and then had breakfast. Breakfast gave us an opportunity to viist with Tammy and the other guests. We had such a wonderful time sharing our journies of where we have been, where we are, and where we are heading. I feel fortunate to have shared this time, so often in this busy life it seems these moments are lost. I felt so at home and so welcomed. I am already making plans to return to Bay Haven. See you soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank som m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Me and my family decided to have our first bed and breakfast experience by staying at the Bay Haven Inn in Cape Charles, VA. They set the standards of how a bed and breakfast should be. Tammy and Jim dedicate so much time and effort to make your experience an enjoyable one. The house and lawns are beautiful. They provide useful information about places to go see, restaurants, and shopping venues in Cape Charles community. There is a nice park behind their bed and breakfast and you can walk to beach, restuarants, and stores. I spent my time on the front porch swing enjoying the cool breezes reading a good book. Tammy and Jim's breakfasts are very good. If you have a particular nutrition need, Tammy and Jim will make sure you have it. If you want to go to a wonderful bed and breakfast experience. This is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brave87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
4.5 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
168 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
83 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
151 reviews
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
24.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles

Property: Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Address: 403 Tazewell Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rejuvenate and restore while taking a step back in time. Without a stop light in sight, take in the breathtaking backdrop where nature, beach, country and history meet in the historic town of Cape Charles along Virginia’s Eastern Shore. Calm bay breezes and the glow of glorious sunsets await you at this 1906 "haven" an escape from the hustle & bustle of the world. Exceptional service and a restorative atmosphere are served up daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing