We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better”

Brown Dog Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't get any better”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Delicious ice cream, friendly service and even a hug from the brown dog himself. A perfect evening treat!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    44
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“This Is Dog Gone Good Ice Cream”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

There is ice cream then there is sure 'nough ice cream. The Brown Dog is serious ice cream made the right way. High butter fat, fresh ingredients, and good flavors make for a near perfect experience. The servings are generous. They also offer a variety of old fashioned bottled sodas and water as well as other treats. A great place when you need that perfect cone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACW2243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“PERFECT PLACE ON A HOT SUMMER DAY!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife especially stays away from sweets but when visiting CC on a hot summer day, she makes a bee line for Brown Dog! Great ice cream, reasonable prices for large servings and friendly staff. What's not to like? The place is always packed during the day which says something about the quality of the ice cream! Reminds me a little of the small ice cream shops I used to go to as a child growing up in Maine. Definitely worth a stop!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tidetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warning: Habit-forming”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Brown Dog Ice Cream was only a couple of blocks from our vacation rental in Cape Charles. After a post-beach shower, our gaggle of grand girls would assemble for the afternoon's highlight. It was a precious step back in time for all of us and the ice cream was unbelievable, wonderfully rich and full of flavor. Wish I'd gotten a picture of little girls on tiptoe peering into the freezer and contemplating the choices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank awright139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to sit back and enjoy a cone!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Outstanding selection of homemade ice cream! We went as a family because we've heard many good things about The Brown Dog, and they were all right! The line was 10 deep, but they served fast and made everyone happy! The staff was very friendly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Brown Dog Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing