We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood Great sunset”
Review of The Shanty

The Shanty
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Shanty is the Eastern Shores premier destination for waterfront dining. Offering the freshest local seafood and produce on a daily basis, Spring, Summer and Fall. Take in a beautiful sunset over the Chesapeake Bay while enjoying delicious homemade crab cakes, Caribbean style tacos, or the daily fresh catch special with an ice cold draft. Full bar, live entertainment, harbor front outdoor seating, available dock space and creative daily specials made for and by people who are truly passionate about food and excellent service!
Bucks County, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood Great sunset”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

What a nice restaurant! Had steamed shrimp for app, rockfish for entree and both were delicious. Sunset was incredible! Our waitress, Abby, was very attentive and nice. Don't miss this one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoadtrippersGPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    206
    68
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Much Better”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I had dinner at The Shanty last night with my husband and another couple. The restaurant is located across the water from the main drag, and is not readily visible from all the shops, etc., so I'm grateful to the proprietor of one of the gift shops for telling us about it. In any event, it is not a secret to the locals, as the restaurant was in full party swing when we got there. It was a beautiful day, and we chose to sit outside on the deck... which turned out to be an excellent choice. The sun on the water was gorgeous and very relaxing. The food was amazing, among the freshest I've ever had in a restaurant. And our server, Adria, was helpful, informative, and funny. I would drive over the Chesapeake Bay bridge-tunnel again in a heartbeat to eat at the Shanty. We will definitely be returning!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilyann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great vibe and food in the Off Season”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We came here for dinner on The Shanty's second night re-opened following the off-season. We found the staff to be extremely welcoming and did not notice any "re-opening" hiccups.
The drink list is extensive and fun--a nice selection of wines, specialty cocktails, and many local beers. The menu is relatively casual, but not restricted to fried seafood baskets. There are fun twists on typical seafood fare.
We started with local raw oysters and hush puppies--both excellent. For dinner we had the fish tacos (made with shrimp) and the duck panini. Both dishes were great. The homemade guacamole served with the tacos was awesome. The fries that came with the sandwich weren't very fresh--tasted like they had been under a heat lamp for a spell, but that was minor blip in an otherwise great meal and visit.

Helpful?
Thank EmilyTravels84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere !”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

If you love tasty local seafood with a great harbor view you'll love this restaurant . Very Eastern Shore decor with friendly servers.....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun Friday Night”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stopped in at the Shanty on their last Friday night of the season. Deciding to sit at the bar we were served by two wonderful young bartenders who made very good drinks! The first two selections we ordered for dinner were sold out so we settled on fish tacos. Very good bar food and friendly atmosphere.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BHSabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shanty also viewed

 

Been to The Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing