We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dockside seafood and sunsets!”
Review of The Shanty

The Shanty
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Shanty is the Eastern Shores premier destination for waterfront dining. Offering the freshest local seafood and produce on a daily basis, Spring, Summer and Fall. Take in a beautiful sunset over the Chesapeake Bay while enjoying delicious homemade crab cakes, Caribbean style tacos, or the daily fresh catch special with an ice cold draft. Full bar, live entertainment, harbor front outdoor seating, available dock space and creative daily specials made for and by people who are truly passionate about food and excellent service!
No where, Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dockside seafood and sunsets!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Locals suggested this new food find ok maybe its more a bar but families are welcome. We choose to sit outside overlooking the docks as we sat and watched the sun set and the fishing boats go out. We ate the best clam chowder ever! Then we shared a seafood platter (actually a medium size pizza tray) of deep fried soft shell crab, clams, oysters, crabcake, hush puppies and fish. It was great. Waitstaff were friendly, even took our picture for us overlooking the dock and sunset. it was a great experiance and we really enjoyed it. Not fancy, no need to dress up, do take a jacket and sit outside on the picnic table, order a great beer and enjoy the night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    206
    69
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good local dive”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great views. Saw an awesome sunset in to the water. Might have been the most uncomfortable chairs I ever sat in. We were in a picnic type table that was bolted to the floor. Food is above average. Definitely has a local's bar flavor. Lunch outside would be cool. I would go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hondo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wouldn't try it again for a long time”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We gave it a shot - heard the clam chowder was good. And it was. We actually really enjoyed the chowder. The calamari was fresh - but it was piled high as soon as it was cooked and all the coating fell off. The marinara dipping sauce wasn't very good either. I definitely wouldn't order the calamari again. I got the 1/2 lb steamed shrimp with a side of corn on the cob and hushpuppies. They gave a ton of hush puppies - they were pretty good. The corn was really tasty and fresh and grilled. The shrimp was very tiny - and extremely oversteamed. This shouldn't be the case - how hard is it to set a timer and steam shrimp properly? My husband got the soft shell crab BLT and he said it was pretty good. He has had his share of soft shell crabs before, but never with bacon and bacon makes everything better in our opinon! The fries that came with the BLT were cold. Again, this shouldn't happen. The place was DEAD. It was a rainy, Sunday night. I'd hate to see what sort of issues they have on really crowded, summer nights. It looks like a nice outdoor seating area, and inside had limited tables and yes, it was loud in there. We had good service, she was attentive and refilled drinks quickly, etc. the place is nice and it IS roomier in there than a lot of the other places in Cape Charles.

Someone beside us got a nice looking, but very thin, chocolate layer cake. I would've given it a shot, but opted for a caramel sundae at McDonald's instead. I know thats worth the $1.29!

The menu IS limited - maybe it will expand, maybe not. We visit this area several times a year and I probably wouldn't try this again for a while. Maybe next summer when its nice out and we can sit outside and make the view and atmosphere part of the experience. I'd definitely go back to Aqua, or Kelly's Pub before I ventured back to The Shanty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JJJJ4Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shanty - New edition to the charm of Cape Charles”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Upon our return to the quaint charm that is Cape Charles we quickly found the Shanty - new since our last visit a year ago and it became our daily stop after a day at the beach. Enjoyed the conversation with the locals and the bartenders. Good chowder. Loved the Shantini. Great sunsets each night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sandwich with a view.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A good crabcake sandwich served on paper plates with plastic forks. Probably a better lunch choice. Chowder was a little pasty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsC757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shanty also viewed

 

Been to The Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing