We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Step Back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cape Charles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cape Charles
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Step Back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Cape Charles for a couples getaway. It was perfect in every way. Ned was gracious and kind as soon as we stepped into the hotel. We loved it. It was clean, neat, and has a lot of charm. We stayed in King Suite #7, which was on the front of the hotel over looking the main street. I was perfect and we liked sitting outside and watching everything going on, which really isn't much. The room was great and like everyone else they have the BEST beds and pillows. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in King Suite #7. It has a little sitting area, but no TV, so we didn't use that at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susieshif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    22
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
83
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corolla, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We checked in and the room lived up to our expectations, the hotel was quite and very very clean. It was the perfect fit for our weekend. The hotel is defiantly a jewel, and the bed was really comfortable!!! The staff was very helpful and we would go back because we enjoyed our time in the area. I am looking for our next opportunity to visit the eastern shore now, and go back to the Hotel Cape Charles.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terrell f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Checked in today with our 11 month old Labrador. We have a very clean, spacious, modern room. Very quiet heat/ac unit with remote control. Comfortable bed. I would DEFINATELY recommend this hotel if you are visiting Cape Charles.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a fall weekend get away and were NOT disappointed!! Ned checked us in and gave us lots of info about the hotel and the area. The staff is very accommodating and the room was perfect! It was clean, attractive and we had a small balcony with 2 chairs for sitting out in the evening. Right in the middle of town, so we had easy access to everywhere! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imatbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richpho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is honestly nicer than any hotel I've stayed at here in the US and abroad. I say it's the nicest because the people working, character of the building and rooms and general cool factor. If you're headed to Cape Charles and need a hotel, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank richpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, MA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a few days and loved it. The hotel is very streamlined with modern furnishings and great open spaces. The rooms are wonderful with high ceilings, ceiling fan, beautiful bathrooms. The beds and pillows are so comfortable and cozy. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast consists of coffee, tea, juices, cereal, yogurt and granola. The hotel is walking distance to several places around town including the beach. Stay here, you will not regret it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetsusan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Cape Charles, we had to go for a funeral and had no idea where to stay. My husband found this hotel online and what a find it was. We were quite surprised and delighted when we walked in and saw that the hotel was decorated in a clean, minimalist style. The staff was very welcoming, even Roxie. It was evening and they recommended a fabulous restaurant with a view of the sunset for dinner. We weren't disappointed. Our room was clean and the bed was ridiculously comfortable. The room was very quiet and we had an excellent night's sleep. The bathrooms are spacious and the toiletries have a wonderfully clean scent. The breakfast provided was light but we opted for their recommendation of the coffee shop two doors down. We weren't disappointed with that either. We are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Can't comment on any room except the one we had, room 16. It has a king bed, a comfortable balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhk923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
4.5 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Cape Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
24.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cape Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cape Charles

Property: Hotel Cape Charles
Address: 235 Mason Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cape Charles is a boutique hotel on Virginia's Eastern Shore. We are the region's only full service hotel, with concierge services, conference facilities, and access to a wide range of amenities with nearby Bay Creek Resort, including access to golf courses and marina. Hotel Cape Charles is a beautiful and unique property; our rooms are light-filled, with private glass balconies, modern decor, and organic mattresses and linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing