We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”
Review of Hotel Cape Charles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cape Charles
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We selected this hotel based upon previous reviews and were not disappointed. The staff was wonderful and the accommodations lovely. Very modern design. Very comfortable. They recommended Aqua for dinner (great) and the coffee shop two doors down for breakfast (also great). Definitely the place to stay in or around Cape Charles.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SailGalatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 170 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a fantastic stay at Hotel Cape Charles. The attention to detail and soothing atmosphere make it an ideal get-away. Fantastic decor - lovely rooms - friendly staff - beach proximity. What more could one ask for!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bombaybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Cape Charles for a single night in late June. They were just putting the finishing touches on what had been a two year renovation. What a wonderful design and construction job they did. I stayed in a large room off the courtyard - one level with a sitting/living room and a separate bedroom and bathroom. The room was beautifully appointed and very spacious. Everything about the Hotel Cape Charles says beauty and elegance. The innkeeper, Ned goes out of his way to insure the comfort of his guests. No doubt this is now the destination hotel in Cape Charles. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel for a one evening couple's get-away for an odd reason--we wanted to try out the mattress. We are considering the purchase of a Cozypure latex mattress and saw on the Cozypure website that these are the beds in the hotel....since we were planning a weekend away anyway we decided to try the Hotel Cape Charles and we were so glad we did.

First of all, Cape Charles is sleepy. For us, that was the point. There were several restaurants to choose from--and we enjoyed delicious food everywhere we went--all within walking distance. The beach was lovely. There is a great pier for fishing and the croaker were biting. We especially loved our evening stroll along the pier and beach as the sun set....just kissed the water in a pink glow and then was gone. This seems to be the big local attraction as many folks were out strolling...but not too many. We finished our day with homemade ice cream from Brown Dog Ice Cream and were pleased to meet the infamous "Brown Dog" who was relaxing on his golf cart while he checked on business.

On to the hotel: it was contemporary and lovely. It's sort of a surprise in this setting. It is does not really have views of water. It's views are industrial/or parking lot. But it has an inviting atmosphere and is spacious and immaculate. There were lots of nice little touches--real silver spoons for your yogurt and granola breakfast, delicious coffee, tea time, wonderful smelling spa quality soaps in the rooms, and Cozypure mattresses. The beds were so comfortable and luxurious. The staff was also fantastic...friendly when we wanted to talk and unobtrusive when we did not. All in all, we were very pleased with the Hotel Cape Charles.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank angie550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful evening in Cape Charles and were extremely pleased with our experience at the hotel Cape Charles. The owners are extremely welcoming and the newly renovated property is more four star than small town B&B

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksm3134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed in a beautiful room here in beautiful Cape Charles. The room was clean with contemporary decoration. A large flat screen TV, balcony overlooking the main street. There is plenty of space in the bathroom, soft towels, excellent shower and good toiletries. The bed has to be one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

The town is quiet, very attractive with a good beach overlooking Chesapeake Bay. There is plenty to do here and good places to eat and drink for a small town like this. I enjoyed the Shack, with lots of friendly people who were great when I spotted a boat in the marina I had been on in Scotland some 29 years ago!

Ned and Laura couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. I didn't feel that anything was too much trouble for them. Not sure what the problem was the previous had - perhaps the reviewer was the problem!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
6  Thank WebbyABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Cape Charles with our golden retriever and had a very relaxing and enjoyable time.The hotel itself was fantastic. A little pricy for this little town but very, very nice. Big rooms comfy beds and huge bath. Decorated to the hilt with tile and hardwood. Everything you would need like frig wifi and even a alarm clock for your IPhone or IPod so you can play your music. You couldn't find a better boutique hotel in manhattan. The manager Ned and his assistant Laura were extremely pleasant and helpful. Ned's little dog Roxy was very pleasant as well. Great granola and coffee in the morning. The town itself was like stepping back in time. Not big mind you but it was nice seeing the old gentlemen rocking on their chairs and drinking probably mint juleps in front of the general store chatting with passing by. If you are looking for excitement this is not your place. But if you are looking for a tranquil beach maybe a little kayaking or sailing this is your place. We ate at the shanty where they let us bring our dog on the out side deck. Good food and great sunset over the marina and bay. Kelly's pub down the street was good too. You will find the people very nice and friendly. Don't forget the bay bridge tunnel. Every time We cross it we are amazed by this engineering feat. The only negative was the cement plant that was built to supply concrete for the construction of the tunnel is on the water adjacent to down town. It is still operational but overlook this one thing. It employees hundreds of the local residents. Our stay was short. You should be able to see and do everything in a few days or a long weekend.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor with an entrance to the outside courtyard and outside showers for beach. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
9.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
103 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
173 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
158 reviews
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
24.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cape Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cape Charles

Address: 235 Mason Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cape Charles
Price Range: $150 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cape Charles is a boutique hotel on Virginia's Eastern Shore. We are the region's only full service hotel, with concierge services, conference facilities, and access to a wide range of amenities with nearby Bay Creek Resort, including access to golf courses and marina. Hotel Cape Charles is a beautiful and unique property; our rooms are light-filled, with private glass balconies, modern decor, and organic mattresses and linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing