We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cape Charles
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shore Stay Suites(Cape Charles)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peacock Motor Inn(Cape Charles)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiptopeke Inn(Cape Charles)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Resort(Cape Charles)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
136
25
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
25
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolaloft roomfront desk staffrestaurants and shopsgreat pet friendly hotelperfect hotelbalcony overlooking the streethotel is moderntall ceilingsget awaycontinental breakfast issitting areathe bed was super comfortableworked greatcheck in was easyhistoric buildingthe staff was friendly and helpful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 173 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful evening in Cape Charles and were extremely pleased with our experience at the hotel Cape Charles. The owners are extremely welcoming and the newly renovated property is more four star than small town B&B

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksm3134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed in a beautiful room here in beautiful Cape Charles. The room was clean with contemporary decoration. A large flat screen TV, balcony overlooking the main street. There is plenty of space in the bathroom, soft towels, excellent shower and good toiletries. The bed has to be one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

The town is quiet, very attractive with a good beach overlooking Chesapeake Bay. There is plenty to do here and good places to eat and drink for a small town like this. I enjoyed the Shack, with lots of friendly people who were great when I spotted a boat in the marina I had been on in Scotland some 29 years ago!

Ned and Laura couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. I didn't feel that anything was too much trouble for them. Not sure what the problem was the previous had - perhaps the reviewer was the problem!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
6  Thank WebbyABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Cape Charles with our golden retriever and had a very relaxing and enjoyable time.The hotel itself was fantastic. A little pricy for this little town but very, very nice. Big rooms comfy beds and huge bath. Decorated to the hilt with tile and hardwood. Everything you would need like frig wifi and even a alarm clock for your IPhone or IPod so you can play your music. You couldn't find a better boutique hotel in manhattan. The manager Ned and his assistant Laura were extremely pleasant and helpful. Ned's little dog Roxy was very pleasant as well. Great granola and coffee in the morning. The town itself was like stepping back in time. Not big mind you but it was nice seeing the old gentlemen rocking on their chairs and drinking probably mint juleps in front of the general store chatting with passing by. If you are looking for excitement this is not your place. But if you are looking for a tranquil beach maybe a little kayaking or sailing this is your place. We ate at the shanty where they let us bring our dog on the out side deck. Good food and great sunset over the marina and bay. Kelly's pub down the street was good too. You will find the people very nice and friendly. Don't forget the bay bridge tunnel. Every time We cross it we are amazed by this engineering feat. The only negative was the cement plant that was built to supply concrete for the construction of the tunnel is on the water adjacent to down town. It is still operational but overlook this one thing. It employees hundreds of the local residents. Our stay was short. You should be able to see and do everything in a few days or a long weekend.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor with an entrance to the outside courtyard and outside showers for beach. Very convienant for our dog.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We made reservations at the Hotel Cape Charles for a weekend getaway. Although the hotel itself is nice, clean, and comfortable, the price point for what a guest receives at both the hotel and the Cape Charles area itself is too much. On a specific point, the "Harbor View" is really a view of the industrial plant/loading dock.

We paid about $250 per night to stay in a comfortable room. This price could have easily been reasonable had it been in a city like Charleston, SC. In fact, we recently had a vacation in Charleston, where we stayed at a nicer hotel with much more amenities, not to mention the city of Charleston itslef for a much cheaper rate.

Unfortunately, there is just not much to do in Cape Charles, especially when the weather is relatively poor, like it was during our stay. Old Town Cape Charles is pretty much a block and a half. It's definitely a decent place for a group to visit for a day and maybe one night at most, but not a weekend. We attempted to schedule a sailing trip, but were told by the owner that he wasn't taking customers out because of the weather, we cancelled a kayak adventure because it was raining, and the beach is not all very inviting.

We attempted to cancel our stay for the second night and politely requested only a partial refund for the second night, after realizing that there was nothing we could do once we were notified that the sailing trip would not occur due to weather, but unfortunately the hotel management did not accommodate our request. A hotel's pricing/refund policy is completely understandable, but given that the hotel opened in May, it's a small hotel with only 16 rooms, the hotel itself is really the only reason out-of-town visitors are attracted to Old Town Cape Charles, VA in the first place, it was disappointing to receive an outright denial of our request. Being a start-up boutique hotel in a small market, we were hoping for a bit more customer service and flexibility.

Again, the hotel is nice and clean, but too expensive for what you're getting and the customer service left something to be desired.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DCJmO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0394893, Owner at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

It is always disappointing when the weather doesn't cooperate or a small town doesn't meet expectations during a vacation. While we can sympathize, we cannot offer a refund when a guest decides to depart early because weather curtails planned vacation activities.

Our hotel reservation policies are fairly typical, and early departure during the day of the reservation normally involves a financial obligation except when family emergency or similar is involved. In this instance, the guest's threat of an unfavorable online review unless the hotel staff accommodated their request for refund made us even less inclined to consider compensation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The proprietors were wonderful. They were available at all times and extremely helpful. The room was tastefully done in a contemporary style and very clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are going to Cape Charles! And, we loved the little dog that greeted us!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews