We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay - Very Clean!”
Review of Fig Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fig Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The two of us stayed for a last minute get away to Cape Charles this February. We were relieved to have found a BnB that only required a one night stay (in the off season) as we live rather close by. The Fig Street Inn was a pleasant surprise! Not only were we very satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort of our room, but we also came to find that the owners truly specialize in the "added touches" - "The Fig Street Inn" Chapstick and loofa, as well as make-up removing towelettes - Everything we didn't even know we needed :) The owners take their business seriously and obviously take the extra steps to create a comfortable experience. Each of the rooms are very recently updated and have private baths. We will be back!

Room Tip: There is one downstairs room, which would be appropriate for guests who have difficulty with stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyyogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Last minute one night stays are always welcome. Thank you for your comments about our "added touches". We're continually looking for ways to set us apart from other lodging choices and it means so much when our guests notice and appreciate them. The loofahs are a newer amenity for our rooms with tubs so thanks for the feedback. Hope to see you on your next visit to Cape Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Fig Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 257 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Greg and Donna are great hosts and the breakfast is wonderful.It is nice to be able to travel thru and stop at a place you can count on to be pleasant and relaxing. It feels like home to us...and whaty more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Their web site will assist you in the rigt selection for your needs.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touroften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

My apologies for not responding to these guests when they posted a review. And since then, they have come back for another visit - they currently hold the record as our most frequent guest. What more can we say than "thank you". We'll see you on your next trip up (or down) the coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and i needed a little R&R and Fig Street Inn was just the place. We stayed in the suite and it exceeded our expectations! This B&B is gorgeous and the owners are wonderful! Breakfast was to die for! We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amberstarr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Fig St Inn was fantastic. The accomodations were very elegant and nothing was spared on the guests. My girfriend and I wanted a quiet getaway and this place was perfect. We walked around town and supported the local shops and made two trips to Gull Hummock on Mason. Greg and Donna made suggestions for dining and things to do and they were worth it. Breakfasts were the best I've ever had at a B&B and each morning it was like sitting down with family. We visited the museum and learned a lot about the history of Cape Charles and it made us wish we could travel back in time to when it was booming. Not to put a restaurant down, but if you have only one night, skip Aqua and vist Kings Creek Inn for dinner, it was fantastic to say the least.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

When you drive down Mason Avenue, you drop back in time at least 80 years. It’s wonderful.
Fig Street Inn is our favorite B&B in Cape Charles. The Inn is a beautiful old home with interesting furnishings. Very happy with our room on the first floor which had a private entrance. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. We enjoyed our conversations with Donna and Greg. For breakfast we had a cheese omelet, fruit, and homemade muffins. I must mention that Greg goes to a great deal of trouble in brewing the perfect cup of coffee. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thanks for mentioning our downtown area on Mason Avenue. Our town takes a lot of pride in preserving the historical facades, but offering an eclectic and modern mix of restaurants, shops, galleries and gourmet stores. So glad you could explore and enjoy during your stay. We love our coffee too! It's been a hit with our guests for many years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Cape Charles is a lovely town and the Fig Street Inn is absolutely wonderful. We were there to enjoy the golf, seafood and friends we have traveled with on several occasions. Donna and Greg made us welcome with the use of games, books, movies, travel information, multiple sitting rooms and always a delicious breakfast. Our room, "The Chesapeake" , had everything we wanted in charm and functionality. We have already requested a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

As soon as we get the dates for the golf tournament, we'll let you know. Would love to have all of you back. Congrats on the win at the tournament - proud to have so many lucky players in our house that week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our first getaway since the birth of our 14 month old son and we were pleased to see on their website that the Inn had a no children policy but what they fail to mention is that two small children live there. While the children were generally well behaved and unseen I was awoken twice by the sound of them playing in the hall (which echos because of the hardwood floors and the one inch gap between the bottom of the door and the floor) and once to the sound of one having a tanturm. Seeing as this is exactly what we were trying to get away from you can imagine the disappointment.
The hosts were fine I suppose. They never introduced themselves to us and had no recommendations for dining options. We ultimately grabbed a map and just started talking to locals to find our way around. The breakfasts they served were excellent.
The common areas, bedroom and bathroom were very clean. The linens and towels were also clean and comfortable. I did not sleep very much because the bed was very firm. Although, this may be a personal preferance because my husband slept fine. However, the fireplace in our room was a bit of a joke. Turning it on was simple but turning it off posed a danger because the knobs get REALLY hot after just a short time and my husband burnt his hand on it twice while trying to turn it off.
I have to confess that I was also a bit put out by the fact that the enterance to their private living space was right across from our room and was an absolute mess. They should at the least cover the doors to their private area with solid curatins so the guest do not have to look at their disorganization.
My husband and I have traveled the East and West coast and have stayed at numerous B&B's. Our experience with the Figg Street Inn was below average but not poor. We will not be returning and would not recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We welcome guest feedback and appreciate the opportunity to respond. These guests checked out yesterday so our recollection of their time with us is fresh. Greg checked these guests in and showed them our common areas, talked about breakfast, told them about our additional amenities (snack bar, refrigerator, movies). He took them to their guest room and showed them how to operate the fireplace. They did ask about places to eat and Greg said that we had maps in our living room that listed our town’s shops and restaurants. They did not discuss dining options beyond that. I, personally, did not see these guests until later and I did not introduce myself. For that I apologize. They were headed out and I did not want to hold them up from where they were going.

Our children policy is stated on our website and is “Children over 12 are welcome anytime. Children under 12 are welcome at the discretion of the innkeepers, by prior arrangement. The innkeepers live on premise in private quarters with their two children.” This guest says they read our website and our children policy. This policy has not changed in our 8+ years as innkeepers and parents, and has always been posted on our website. The same policy is stated in our on-line reservation form. These guests booked on-line. We are not able to receive an on-line reservation unless the guest checks a box saying they have read and agree to our policies. They also received an email confirmation that restates this information. This review website also has reviews written by other guests that mention our children. The husband did call us prior to booking. I spoke with him and asked if I could answer any questions on the room or our inn. He said he had been to the website and was calling to make sure we were open since Hurricane Sandy had just passed through our town. He said he didn’t have any other questions and I asked if he wanted me to take his reservation over the phone and he said he would book on-line.

Over the years, we have had many guests say they were not aware that we even had children. We limit our children’s interaction with guests because we recognize that many of our guests come for a relaxing getaway. Our youngest child did wake up around 10 pm one evening and came down the stairs past their room crying looking for us. I am not sure what other time this guest was woken up since our children do not play where this guest is saying they were. They do have to walk in the hallway to get downstairs but they are never permitted to play there, whether we have guests or not. Our children are typically with one of us in our living quarters or kitchen until all guests are up and out for the day.

These guests stayed in our Narragansett Room which is across from the entrance to our quarters. There are doors that have patterned sheer curtains and if you do look in, you will see our laundry area. We do not use solid curtains because it makes the hallway extremely dark as those doors provide the only natural light. We do agree that the area was disorganized during their stay. We were in the process of cleaning and packing linens and clothes for donation to a family that has been displaced by Hurricane Sandy. It was our responsibility to keep that room neater, or at least the door closed at all times.

I am not sure how to respond to our fireplace being a “joke” since these guests used the fireplace repeatedly and for extended periods of time during their 2 days here.

I did check these guests out and asked about their stay. They gave no indication that there were any concerns or problems. We would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss directly and in person.

We know that we are not, and can never be, the right choice for everyone. We provide detailed information about our inn and policies on our website. We encourage potential guests to call or email any questions. We have a toll-free number so potential guests can call us with no charge to them. Our goal is to make guests happy and comfortable and if we do not feel we can do that for someone, for one reason or another, we are more than willing to recommend a place that would be a better fit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
4.3 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
169 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
99 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
156 reviews
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
24.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Street Inn

Address: 711 Tazewell Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range: $193 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fig Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fig Street Inn is a boutique−style inn located on Virginia’s Eastern Shore in the historic town of Cape Charles. Enjoy elegant and gracious accommodations with a mix of antique furnishings, contemporary design and modern amenities. All rooms include a private, ensuite, tiled bath, flat screen satellite TV with Bluray, WiFi, MP3, and central air/heat. Jetted tubs or gas fireplace available in select rooms. Full homemade breakfast included. Fig Street Inn is located within walking distance to town shops, restaurants, spa, and galleries and 1/2 mile to the Chesapeake Bay and sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fig Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing