We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for a much needed getaway.”
Review of Fig Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fig Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We pulled up and were greeted by Donna while Greg was working in the yard. Donna took us inside to the huge first floor where we signed the guest book and looked at all the neat decor. What was amazing was the fact that for just the two of them maintaining the property, everything was spotless and organized. Two sets of stairs led to the second floor to each end of the hallway which seemed to add a more personal touch. The room had an good old fashion feel with all the modern amenities. The bed was very comfortable. Hadn't slept the sound in awhile. I also had quite a few drinks that helped out. Greg cooked up an awesome breakfast in the morning and we still had time to relax until check out at 1100. We we will going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffNCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing us for your one-night getaway, and for all your great comments about our inn, rooms and breakfast. You are welcome back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Fig Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 258 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Fig Street Inn is top notch! Our room was spotless and very spacious (The Boston Harbor Suite). The location was perfect for hopping on our bikes and riding to the beach and shops. Greg made us delicious breakfasts (to order) each morning. We had a very relaxing and comfortable stay in Cape Charles thanks to The Fig Street Inn. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

You are welcome anytime! Thank you, thank you for a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

If you are looking for a great experience and a super breakfast to boot, this is the place to go! It could not be in a better location just blocks from the quaint and historic town of Cape Charles on Virginia's Eastern Shore. This 1899 house converted into a bed and breakfast is a marvel to see and admire Greg and Donna are perfect hosts and make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The rooms are very comfortable and afford many amenities for relaxing and kicking back. We chose this inn for our mini-honeymoon and it couldn't have been better, We would recommend the Fig Street Inn for any occasion whether special or for just a week-end getaway!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

We are truly honored you chose to spend your first days as husband and wife at Fig Street Inn and are even more thrilled you had an enjoyable and relaxing time. Congratulations and all the best for a wonderful, long, healthy and joyful life together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Fig Street Inn met all of my expectations... and then some. The home is a beautifully restored Victorian on the edge of the historic district. It's the largest home in town and is situated on a beautiful lot, shaded by mature trees and a well-manicured lawn. There's even the proverbial white picket fence. While not overly large, the rooms are beautifully decorated, bright and cheerful, and incredibly relaxing. My mattress was so overstuffed, I needed a step stool to climb in! Very, very nice.

Staying in a motel is a crime when so many delightful (and affordable) B&Bs await. Cape Charles is an absolute delight and rewards those who enjoy leisurely walks, charming architecture, and low-key attractions. The Fig Street Inn is perfectly situated to enjoy it all.

Highly recommened. I only wish I had more time to sit on the lovely wraparound porch and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

We're so happy you found us on your last minute trip through Cape Charles and had the opportunity to stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Place has been beautifully updated. A lot of work has been put into it. Greg and Donna are very very friendly and make you feel right at home. I've stayed in two different rooms now, and both the beds were very comfortable. I slept like a baby every night. Would highly recommend staying here if you're in the Cape Charles area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crossen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Our best review is when a guest can recommend us to others - thank you! Hope to see you on your next business trip to Cape Charles. Never a problem to do early breakfast for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have nothing but great things to say about the Fig Street Inn. We were greeted with smiles every day. Greg and Donna were most than helpful by scheduling our reservations for dinner and recommending great places to eat and do. The breakfast was to die for. You must have a chocolate chip muffin if they have them!! Amazing! It rained one day and we stayed in and watched a few movies (great selection), and we actually didn't make it to breakfast the second day (but did get some muffins for the road) because the bed was so comfortable, we didn't even want to get out of it! We highly recommend the inn and we hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Glad these guests could enjoy some rest & relaxation. We get lots of compliments on our mattresses (thank you!). There's nothing like a great mattress to make the experience one of the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Our recent stay at the Fig Street Inn, Cape Charles, VA was excellent in every way. Our newly restored and renovated large room was first class with king-sized poster bed, Direct TV and VCR, and beautiful shower and bathroom amenities. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Donna and Greg we knew that the experience at the Fig Tree Inn would be a memorable one. After a restful night, we were treated to a delicious french toast breakfast and a pleasant chat with the two other couples who had spent the night at the Inn. This was a five star experience in all areas and we plan to stay at the Fig Street Inn when we return to Cape Charles. The Inn restoration is magnificent. Donna and Greg are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

First of all, congratulations on winning the golf tournament! Our goal is to make staying with us "an experience" and we're glad you felt that way about your time here at Fig Street Inn. Hope to see you for your next round of golf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
4.3 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
169 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
100 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
156 reviews
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
24.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Street Inn

Address: 711 Tazewell Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range: $193 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fig Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fig Street Inn is a boutique−style inn located on Virginia’s Eastern Shore in the historic town of Cape Charles. Enjoy elegant and gracious accommodations with a mix of antique furnishings, contemporary design and modern amenities. All rooms include a private, ensuite, tiled bath, flat screen satellite TV with Bluray, WiFi, MP3, and central air/heat. Jetted tubs or gas fireplace available in select rooms. Full homemade breakfast included. Fig Street Inn is located within walking distance to town shops, restaurants, spa, and galleries and 1/2 mile to the Chesapeake Bay and sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fig Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing