We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely not for children at lunch!”

Cape Charles Coffee House
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: It was very tasty and very popular. Definitely worth listing.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely not for children at lunch!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I hesitate to give this coffee shop even a one star. I went in there at 11:40am to have lunch with my 5 year old. I was given a several page menu and after I started to order the waitress (very moodily) told me that the breakfast menu was finished and I had to wait 20 minutes before I could order lunch! The only food that was available to me was a plate of 5 muffins. I went up to ask the manager/owner if he could accommodate me in someway even suggesting a cheese sandwich. The owner was rude and refused to accommodate me even suggesting that I was abusive! I left immediately as I do not go to a shop to be shouted at by the owner. So if you have a child DO NOT go to this establishment. And certainly do not go there between 11:20 and 12!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    67
    19
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast and coffee”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a cute little coffee shop - the only place we could find within walking distance in Cape Charles that offers breakfast. Typical diner-type breakfast options, the food was pretty good but nothing special. Loved the atmosphere though, I would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Now that's a cup of coffee”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wow what a great way to start your day. The coffee was oustanding and the food was delicicous. We spent a week in Cape Charles and 6 out of the 7 days we started with a trip to the coffee shop. The service is a bit slow but that seemed to be a tread all over town. Hey,,You're on vacation. What's your hurry. Although a little slow the girls were wonderful which is another tread all over town. We were able to sit in a lovely atmosphere, take our time, you're never rushed out. Use their WIFI and enjoy the finest bottomless cup of coffee you'll ever have. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great coffee and breakfast sandwiches”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Came in thinking it was to late for breakfast but they were still serving at 11:20. Got a double espresso and a sausage egg and cheese on rye. All the good reviews are dead on! Great service and great food in a timely manner. Sandwich was nice btw!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArtMacNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, great coffee”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had breakfast at the coffee house three times during a four day stay it Cape Charles. Food was great, coffee even better. It's housed in a great old store-front; we had a good time just checking out the architecture and decor!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Charles Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Cape Charles Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing