We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hook-U-Up Gourmet

Hook-U-Up Gourmet
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh baked breads & desserts daily. Bistro style atmosphere with waitstaff starting at 5pm Tuesday thru Friday. Always fresh, local ingredients. Dinner menu changes weekly. Reservations strongly suggested for dinner. Beer & Wine offered on/off premise. Full Bar.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The prices are pretty high for what you get. I know that it's hand made, but still it seemed a bit high. With that said, their pizza is completely amazing. We just got one large cheese and that was fabulous. I normally try to get some toppings but since we didn't have anywhere to put leftovers, we just got a cheese because of the kids. Just thinking about it now makes my mouth water. Got get some!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tubby_Rower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    19
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cape charles, va
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hook U Up Gourmet - Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Gosh, just had another sandwich from Hook U Up - Everything is homemade. The breads, roast beef, pulled pork. Today was Pulled Pork on a homemade roll with pineapple slaw, sour pickle and sea salt chips. Yum. Thank you

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamcdevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good sandwiches!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great breads and slight twist on the usual makes this place stand out among some very average places. While the pizza is just OK, the sandwiches are very tasty! You can tell the cooks know what they are doing. This is one of the few places in downtown Cape Charles where you can grab something to eat until 9pm at night. We ordered and picked up several times during our stay. The store itself is not much to eat in so we ended up eating at our rental or on the beach. Most places in town shut down at 5-6pm so it was a nice option after 6pm.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A ridiculous shame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Let me say first that I love Cape Charles and want all the businesses to succeed. But it's as if this place is trying to fail. The guy (who I thought was the owner because no employee could ever have such horrible people skills and still have a job) that took my order and money was rude and aloof. My son had tried to pop in for a pizza earlier in the week and said the same thing. Even though we waited over 30 minutes for the pizza it was cold when we got it home (literally a block away). Other people that walked in while we were waiting wound up walking out, though I don't know why. They didn't miss anything.

Helpful?
4 Thank VaFamTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Ownership AKA Hook U Up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Try the crabcake sandwich! We walked over from our boat at the Cape Charles Harbor and carried out our food...all neatly packaged with chips and a pickle. We have heard they also have a nice vegetarian sandwich/wrap.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank togo_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hook-U-Up Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Hook-U-Up Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing