We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Shore Stay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Stay Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hardyville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We planned a quick getaway on the spur of the moment and came across Shore Stay Suites while surfing the internet. We couldn't have made a better choice! We have stayed in Cape Charles on numerous occasions, but this was our first time at Shore Stay. The room was HUGE with an almost full size kitchen that had everything necessary if we had planned a month long visit. The bathroom was large as well; my personal favorite was the fact that there was a heat lamp in the bathroom...so welcoming! Our other two favorites in Cape Charles is Kelly's Gingernut Pub and Gull Hummock Gourmet Market....all these made for a most enjoyable, relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shore S, Manager at Shore Stay Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your response on TripAdvisor of your stay here at Shore Stay Suites. My husband, Tracy and I are the new Innkeepers and I could not agree more with your statement of the HUGE room and bathroom.

I look forward to meeting you in the near future and to share the positive changes that we have added to the suites.

"Blessing of the Fleet" is April 5, 2013 @ 5:30 p.m. Hope to see you there!!!!!!!

Best Regards,


Alice and Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    38
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
46
58
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I attended the Eastern Shore Birding and Wildlife Festval this year from October 5-7. Shore Stay Suites was a wonderful surprise, starting with the fact that upon check-in, the manager told me that the rates had gone DOWN since we had made our reservation! The room was quite large, with a king size bed and full kitchen. The bathroom was large, the towels soft and fluffy, and everything was spotlessly clean. Managers Badge and Wendy were extremely cordial and helpful. Can't think of enough compliments. Our stay was quite enjoyable and we will definitely be back next time we're in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Shore Stay Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank your for your comments and we were happy to extend the "Special Birding Rate" to you when you checked in.

We will look forward to your return visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The manager, Badge, was extremely helpful and flexible with our arrival date. The room was bright, clean and had a great kitchenette. The whole place is well kept and up to date.

The location is convenient to Cape Charles harbor and Kiptopeke State Park. Both locations have boat ramps close to great Chesapeake Bay fishing spots like the Bay Bridge Tunnel.

I highly recommend the Shore Stay Suites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Shore Stay Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your stay and we are glad you have a good time here.

We have a strict maintenance schedule to keep everything in tip-top shape and are happy that you noticed that :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife found this gem online as we were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay near Cape Charles for a few nights with our kids as the end of summer and the beginning of school approached. It was well priced, offered good sized rooms that included a kitchenette. It absolutely exceeded our expectations. We filled the full sized fridge with drinks and used them to fill a cooler each day to take to the beach. The kitchen included an oven a microwave, coffee maker and some basic ammenities. The bathroom was clean, modern and large.
The hotel provided a quiet and friendly atmosphere. The room was huge, clean, modern and the beds comfortable. The proprietor was friendly and helpful in offering suggestions for dinner.

We packed a cooler with breakfast items and sandwich stuff and a a couple of cases of water and drinks.
We recommended SSS to a falily we met on the beach at Kiptopeake State Park (5 minutes away) and will continue to recommend them.
Don't hesitate to book a room there, you will not be dissapointed and you'll go back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Shore Stay Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for the response and we are glad that you had such a nice time here with your family.

Yes, we are only a few minutes from the Kiptopeke State Park and we have lots of guests stay here and enjoy the park and its surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Visiting with our grandsons and this hotel is perfect in every way.
Nice rooms plenty of parking for the boat and the managers were great telling us the best places to eat and visit when we weren't fishing. Will stay longer next time.

Room Tip: AC is very cold in the rooms, bring an extra blanket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Shore Stay Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you had such a nice stay here.

We have a regular maintenance schedule for our AC units to keep them in optimal working order and yes, they provide nice cold air conditioning for the rooms.

Also, we do supply blankets in the rooms and we also have ceiling fans for those days and nights when the AC is not needed but you want some air moving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Well we just returned home from a 2 night stay at the Shore Stay Suites. Here's an honest review.

Price: YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER PRICE OR VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY, HANDS DOWN. (No, we do not work for this company nor do any family/friends. I research like a crazy woman before I do anything, always getting the best value for my money and this is it!)

Room: AWESOME. No kidding. Immaculate. No odors, clean, clean, clean!
HUGE! I could actually live there with a few home comforts :) Air conditioning will freeze you out and let me tell you, we needed gills to breathe the time we were there! we spent most of our time in the room because of the oppressive heat and humidity. When we go back, and we're planning on it, we will pick the fall or winter. More than enough closet and drawer space. Huge double closet with mirrored doors, ironing board inside (no iron).

Kitchen: Wow. Clean, clean and did I say clean? They provide basics, huge and heavy dinner plates, loved them! Basic pots, silverware, coffemaker. Huge fridge with great freezer, built in microwave and exhaust fan. Window in the kitchen actually opens! Nice size closet/pantry for extended stay customers.

Bathroom: Perfect size. Not to small, not to big, layed out just right. EXCELLENT water pressure in the shower!

Beds, dressers, nightstand, all heavy wood, really nice!

Tall kitchenette set with 4 barstool chairs. Very nice, slightly worn, but so is mine at home :)

32# flat screen tv with cable and there is free WiFi via router. Plus hard wired net via wall connection (cables available at office).

Okay, now the EH...
Absolutely nowhere to sit comfortably. I am short. The chairs at the high dinette table are simply to high and VERY uncomfortable to sit in for to long. My husband is tall and even though he could easly sit with his legs on the floor, the chairs were still very uncomfortable. I'd suggest adding a comfoy chair as there is plenty of room!

Beds. Pillowtop mattress covers. Very "slippery". Neither of us could get a comfortable sleep. We had 2 queen beds. We aren't used to a super soft bed with a cover that slides around when you move. If I had known it was a mattress cover I could have requested it be removed or could have done it myself. Didn't know this until we left and I stripped the beds for housekeeping, something I always do :)

Ktchen. Although it was just wonderful, there should be some type of printed information on what it supplies and what you should provide. We had to hunt around and figure out all we needed. Paper towels and extra trash bags would have been a huge plus. Pots were very used. The teflon was coming off of it in pieces so we chose to get food out as much as possible.

Bathroom. Holy cow some rough towels and washcloths, suggest bringing your own if you want soft. On the good side they provide more than enough for you and they are big!

WiFi is very unpredictable. If you don't have the router antennae pointed directly at you, and your device, it will not work. Found it out after several attempts. Husband asked down at the office if I needed a password and he said no but didn't offer any solutions or ask if there was a problem :(

Very nice manager but be aware the office closes at 9PM, thought I'm sure if there were a problem it would be solved ASAP!

A few hints about the area. If you plan on dining out and are there during peak season as we were, remortgage your home :) The food prices are totally OUTRAGEOUS, and trust me, if you want seafood, go to Food Lion and buy it. Everything possible is fried, though the southern way, and I live in NC, it was even over the top for us. The "big" draw eatery is called the Sting Ray and is a truck stop and tourist trap basically. I'm sorry but if I have to wait in line and order like I'm at BK, and then pay upwards of $20 for a meal, plus have to find a seat, yeah, I'll go to BK. Breakfast though, looks extremely reasonable, but we ate off the pennisula.
There is also nothing to do if you're bringing a whiny teenager :) The beach, OMG, it is comparable to none. Clean sand, beautifully kept, the people in Cape Charles have great pride and take excellent care of this and they deserve major credit! Just remember it is the BAY not the OCEAN, so no waves (fine with me!) and great for kids and families.

Bottom line is go and stay at the Shore Stay, bring your own food and kitchen items, and towels. Bring a couple of folding chairs for the room if you plan on sitting and watching tv or reading. The area is very quiet, everything pretty much folds up at 9pm except Food Lion, and the hotel is located almost in a corn field so no noise, unless you're a Stephen King fan and that kind of location freaks you out :)

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting a suite, other than that it seems like all rooms are good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edwin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Shore Stay Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your honest response.

We do take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and our very comfortable mattresses. We are sorry that you had and issue with the mattress pad covers and we have since replaced them.

As new managers here we are diligently evaluating each room and upgrading as necessary.

Many of the suites now have new pots and pans and we have replaced some of the comforters and all of the shower curtains..

We supply dish clothes and dish towels in the rooms instead of paper towels as we are a Green Lodging, but we do provide housekeeping so we will take your trash out for you and replace your trash bags.

We have also changed our laundry detergent provider to provide some softness in the towels.

All of our rooms are hardwired for internet for those guests that have difficulties connecting or during inclement weather when the signal may not be at its peak.

Our In-Room directory has all the features that we provide and we are always happy to assist.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our two night stay could only be made better if we had asked for a room on the second floor. There was a loud and inconsiderate family in the room above and we could hear everything. Next morning we had to get up early, and sure enough, the kids were bouncing around before it was light!
But other than that, and the lack of drapes for the windows - the room was great. The furniture is tasteful and the beds are overstuffed and comfy, with quality linens and towels. There is flat screen cable TV and fast internet - I am using it now!
The staff is friendly and very helpful. And the room is very, very clean. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second (top) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltwopinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Shore Stay Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We are happy that you had a nice time here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Yes, our beds are wonderfully comfortable !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
5.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Cape Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
22.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
24.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
23.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Stay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Stay Suites

Property: Shore Stay Suites
Address: 26406 Lankford Hwy, Cape Charles, VA 23310-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shore Stay Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all-suites eastern shore hotel providing ideal lodging for weekend getaways, seasonal vacations, and fishing excursions along Virginia's Eastern Shore. Located on Route 13 in the Cape Center area, Shore Stay Suites is just north of the popular Sting-Ray's Restaurant. Our property is all non-smoking and we are pet friendly with a $50 pet fee payable at check-in. We have plenty of well lit parking for vehicles and boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Shore Stay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing