We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Virginia Beach, VA”

Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Sunset Dolphin Kayak Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At nearly 18 miles long, this bridge-tunnel complex is one of the engineering wonders of the world. Connecting Virginia's Eastern Shore with Virginia's mainland in Virginia Beach/Norfolk, this facility will save travelers 90 miles or more as they travel from points north of Wilmington, Delaware and head down the East Coast towards Virginia Beach or North Carolina's Outer Banks. With a restaurant and gift shop located on the southernmost island of the facility, travelers can enjoy spectacular views of the Chesapeake Bay while dining on delicious Virginia-inspired cuisine or while shopping for unique gifts and souvenirs. AND, the 625-foot fishing pier, located 3.5 miles off shore, provides anglers with a unique fishing opportunity, while leaving the boat at home! Enjoy these unique amenities while you can as the restaurant, gift shop and fishing pier will be closing in October 2017 to make way for the construction of the Parallel Thimble Shoal Tunnel.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trip to Virginia Beach, VA”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel was way cool to drive over and under, very impressive. I liked the views, and the seeing all the fishing and sailboat on the water was pretty neat!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    158
    33
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant was horrible.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant was in fact the worst restaurant I have ever been to. Even though it was only for a quick bite to eat. The service was embarrassing, the food was so horribly cooked thy six other tables turned their food back in. The cheeseburger looked like it came from a cow on a diet. No manager on site. We asked for our sons food to be brought out first, cause he is four years old, it ended up being the last one brought to the table and it was so undercooked that it was red. Will never go there again. Sad because it has a great view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert8054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best spot to see nature and mankind at their best”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is definitely worth a visit, especially if you are a construction buff that loves bridges and tunnels. The entrance to the first tunnel (when heading north) has a small restaurant and a gift shop on an island. You could spend endless hours watching the tides and the ships go by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamsolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reva, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice trip over the bridge/tunnel”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My first time going on the tunnel/bridge. It was awesome. Beautiful views of the water on both sides. We couldn't figure out how to access the restaurant because we were pulling a camper, but overall it was a great experience. Was able to get some beautiful pictures.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expansive view of the Chesapeake Bay”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautiful drive, well worth the $12 toll. Even with the Sunday afternoon in August traffic the drive was smooth and we did not hit congestion until we got close to I-64.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing