We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect getaway and very accommodating!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baywood Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway and very accommodating!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We would highly recommend the Baywood for an easy, relaxing, stress-free getaway! The views of the bay and the beach are absolutely breathtaking. I spent most of my time on the beach, all day Saturday, and had the entire beach to myself. In the backyard there are chairs set up to watch the sunset. The house is just as beautiful. We stayed in the woodsview room- it's clean, spacious and very comfortable. I got two really good nights of sleep! Breakfast was delicious and my husband and I are vegetarians and also gluten free- we mentioned this to the innkeepers and they were more than willing to accommodate. They even went to the effort to get us gluten free raisin bread. My husband and I are also runners and went on a 5 mile run from the beach to Kiptopeake where there is a great nature trail. Overall perfect time- thanks to Mike and Sharon for the hospitality!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbird_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
75
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

we would recomend this to anyone wanting a great place to go and relax. very clean and nice people their cats oscar and luiji helped us not miss our own too much.i loved the driveway it hid the house from the rest of the world so you do feel like you are away from everything for a few days.

Room Tip: get the room facing the water it's great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesk9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stressed and overworked, we found ourselves needing an escape to relax and unwind. The Baywood Inn with its southern charm, and unmistakable view of the Chesapeake bay was just the beginning. After our first night of much needed rest we woke to the aroma of Baywood Inn's jumbo breakfast muffins. Innkeepers Mike and Sharon provided a hearty breakfast to sustain us through a day of sightseeing and beach combing. Our two night stay ended too soon, and we knew our time had come to return back to the real world. The memories of our short term stay in Cape Charles, Virginia at the Baywood Inn created long term memories that will have us returning soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the bayside room that comes with a balcony as well as a bayview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The views of the bay and the private beach are lovely. The Inn has some beautiful artwork and artifacts, and the Innkeeper is knowledgeable and personable. The beds are comfy and the breakfast was amazing. Breakfast was not only delicious (yummy muffins, sausage, awesome scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, juice and coffee), but served with beautiful touches like the fresh fruit served in very Eastern Shore appropriate oyster shell shaped bowls. Two cats give the place a real homey feel, and we were made to feel very much at home by all. The price is right for a relaxing get away.

Room Tip: We had a woods side room and were happy with that since there are plenty of chairs provided to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting the Eastern Shore for the first time, anxiously arriving early. Our room was ready for us, a comfortable, large room overlooking the bay, what more could you ask for? We had no complaints, enjoyed a pleasant and delicious breakfast ( after convenient coffee outside our room at 7:00 am). Will definitely rebook if we are in the area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marsha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent. Very nice rooms and bed extremely comfortable. Great location, right on the water and the view is breathtaking! House is beautiful. Would highly recommend!!! Food was delicious. Owners very personable. View from the bay is gorgeous!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A23232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We and our friends arrived late afternoon to an empty house. The note on the door instructed us to go in and find our names on our rooms, the problem was the door was locked. Feeling very uncomfortable we went around the back to find an open door. We did enter the house and found our rooms. They were adequate. Soon the house filled with children, daughters of the owners and their very small children. The innkeepers were nowhere to be found. We were woken early by the children running up and down the stairs. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, 2 rashers of bacon, some unripened fruit and a very good muffin. We had to request coffee and then again for a 2nd. cup. The last insult was as we were leaving I used the bathroom in our room to come out to find children boucing on my bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwestmore72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
0.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Cape Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.7 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
21.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baywood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baywood Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31400 Latimer Bluff Rd, Cape Charles, VA 23310-1208
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baywood Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baywood is one mile north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel on the Chesapeake Bay side with three bedrooms all with private baths, full breakfast, and a secluded beach. We face west so are sunsets are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Baywood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing