We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”

Mimmo's Italian Restaurant & Grille
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Burkeville
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Burkeville, Virginia
2 reviews
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had not been in Mimmo's in a while and needed to take a business friend to lunch on a recent Friday. I had the best grilled salmon this side of the Red Lobster that I have ever eaten. My friend enjoyed the stromboli, a huge dish! The waitress was awesome. She recommended that I get a rice side dish for my salmon. It was nearly as good as the salmon. I know the principals at the restaurant and can be accused of having a bias. But when it comes to food, like sex, quality wins out every time. If you are in or near Burkeville, do yourself a favor and dine at Mimmo's right off U.S. 460. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quaint and perfect!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Recommended to us by the hotel we were staying at, this is one of the best "unknowns" in this town. The waitress was awesome and on top of everything without a second guess. The portions were HUGE and delicious. This is a bi-monthly trip for us, and this will definately be our Lunch go to each and every time from now on. I am thinking that the hours on the door said closed on Monday - but I am unsure of that one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Txtransplant2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

You may not believe this review just by looking at the outside, but you will agree when you are done with the meal.

I've eaten at this restaurant whenever I'm in the area, and I have never been disappointed with a meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Creek, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modest facade belies fabulous food!!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A simple day trip through rural Southern Virginia resulted in the discovery of this outstanding little Italian restaurant just off State Route 460 in Burkeville, Virginia. Expecting a routine, ho-hum, run-of-the-mill menu in this somewhat small, nondescript building in a little strip mall along this highway, imagine my delight to find some of the most outstanding, unique, freshly prepared Italian food I have ever experienced in the Commonwealth of Virginia! And this was at lunch!!!!

While the food is superb, the prices are very reasonable,and this is very much a family establishment. Owners Mimmo & Grace Amato, are providing this area with delicious old world non-traditional Italian fare, they also serve spectuctular traditional Italian dishes, as well as American favorites. If you find yourself anywhere in this part of the State, or for that matter, have the time, make a point of going to Mimmo's. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippers_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimmo's Italian Restaurant & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Mimmo's Italian Restaurant & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing