We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Lebanon”
Review of Cedar Cafe

Cedar Cafe
Ranked #12 of 60 Restaurants in Burke
Cuisines: Lebanese
Restaurant details
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A taste of Lebanon”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Being from Lebanon and growing up with my mom's homemade food, I am very critical about getting Lebanese food from places other than home. My family and I have been going to Cedar Café ever since it has opened. We get our groceries (bread, labne, etc) and our favorite chicken shawarma and kibbeh. The kibbeh is the best I have tasted and my mom even admits so. The owner always greets us with a big smile. It is a wonderful small restaurant that you must try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctina08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Metro Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't let the humble location fool you...”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

...the food is on par with what you'd find at hip restaurants. We have a lack of selection here in Burke (I never understood why) but this place is still a gem. When you're not in the mood to go to Lebanese Taverna and don't mind being served on foam plates in the pleasant, humble surroundings, the food here will not disappoint, and neither will the price. It isn't cheap but you get a fair deal. My fav: chicken liver pressed in pita. Go try it and keep this gem alive. We need to reward our local business owners who do good work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1stChapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh good food and a great value”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I go here for the chicken shawarma sandwich platter and the chicken kabob platter.
We love to share the side salads they sell as well. They also have gift certificates available. The food is always fresh and the staff is friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Tasty, inexpensive Lebanese food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I both had the beef shawarma sandwich. $5.90 by itself, or $9.00 with fries, salad and drink. Good sandwich... with tahini, which is dairy free. Lots of salads at the counter, sold by weight. I had artichokes, very good, and a pastry stuffed with beef. I would definitely go back. Highest price was $13, mixed kebob platter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlhjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for Grazing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you like to nosh on a little of this and a little of that, this is the place for you. Most of the salads/side dishes are sold by weight, and there is no minimum, so you can have a spoonful or a bucketful of over a dozen side dishes. Also good for vegetarians or anyone who likes fresh wholesome ingredients. You may want to wait a bit to let some of the sides lose their chill, since the cold temperatures tend to sap some flavors.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Cafe also viewed

Burke, Fairfax County
Burke, Fairfax County
 
Burke, Fairfax County
 

Been to Cedar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing