We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good take out food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duk Wo Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Duk Wo Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 58 Restaurants in Burke
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
351 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Pretty good take out food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have gotten take-out from here a couple of times, and felt that the food was pretty good and at fair prices. We have never eaten at the location, so can't comment on staff or ambiance. We have only gotten sushi and sashimi once, but it was very good. We usually order the more mainstream items such as Hot and Sour Soup, Hunan Beef, and General Tsos chicken (which they offer non-fried on request!!!). In the Burke area this has become our favorite take-out for chinese/asian food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jabberwockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great take out sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

They have a very small dinning are but we used the delivery and take out options. The delivery took about 45 min. Both nights the food was great. They gave a great selection. I recommend the Yummy Yummy. The also have regular Chinese. We were not impressed with their egg drop soup.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rlebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
1 review
“Dissappointed in customer service...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I must first admit that much of this review is based on my own human error when ordering online.
I used the online ordering menu for the Burke, Duk Wo, and somehow hit Chicken Chow Mein instead of General Tsao's Chicken, or there is a glich in the system. Anyway, when my order arrived and it had Chow Mein and not what I had meant to order, I called the restaurant about the mistake. Without even a glimpse of can we fix this for you...I simply got an "I am sorry that you are not happy, but that is what you ordered." Mind you, I have been at the same restaurant for 21 years now and we pride ourselves on customer happiness at the end of the meal. I gave the driver a 30% tip and thanked him for coming out in the rain. I probably would have not even bothered writing this if it were'nt for the lack of any concern on the restaurants part that I was unhappy. The Lo Mein was great and the egg rolls are awesome....don't know about the Chow Mein....I hate Chow Mein and threw it away. Oh well, there are luckily plenty of Chinese delivery places near me. Hate that it came to this. We have ordered from this Duk Wo for many years. Maybe I like the old management better. They were very customer oriented.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The best sushi I have ever had in my life! The most fluffiest rice and fresh tasting seafood! I will always go there for my sushi

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torixo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality has improved since our last order”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We ordered:
General Tso's with chicken, excellent
fried rice, good
won ton soup, my husband loves this soup, I don't really care much for it
double cooked pork, (first time I tried it, on a recommendation from the person I spoke with when I called in. I was not disappointed!! YUM Loaded with veggies and thin sliced pork and so tasty. slightly sweet and spicy)
pineapple rangoon, as far as I can tell this is not listed on their menu, but wow is it yummy! fried traingles stuffed with a cream cheese and pineapple mix then drizzled with chocolate. I completely enjoyed my meal this time. You have to try this!
In the past, I have experienced burned food, the cook burned my kids lo mein noodles!
They perhaps have a new chef because the food quality has gone back up.
I was very excited to see this. I was about to write off Duk Wo, but gave them another chance when my husband wanted General Tso's. There have been times in the past it had a lot of fat in it and not so much chicken, but this time it was great.
I will admit that there were several times in the past that I was not thrilled about Duk Wo, but I'm glad I did not give up and decided to order the double cooked pork.
Maybe next I will order the Singapore Noodles. The Duk Wo Chicken is really good, but I wanted more veggies with my meal. The double cooked pork gave me that.
Crispy beef is another dish I tried and liked.
If you aren't sure what something is, try calling them. I hope this helps you. Thanks for reading.
We have never been inside the actual restaurant so we can't say if it is good or bad.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bimmers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duk Wo Restaurant also viewed

Burke, Fairfax County
Burke, Fairfax County
 

Been to Duk Wo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing