We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Mountain View Restaurant - CLOSED

Mountain View Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Diner
Description: "Great food with a view!"
Restaurant details
Description: "Great food with a view!"
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stopped for breakfast on our way from Nashville to NJ. We wanted something different than a chain place. We got off the exit for gas and happen to see it across the way. Decided to give it a try and was very pleasantly surprised. Small breakfast menu but enough variety for everyone. We had French toast and waffles both came w fresh fruit. All of it was delicious! Staff was super friendly especially our server Nelly. Friendly and personable! Would def come back again on our travels.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have to admit I was a bit hesitant when we pulled up to this restaurant but to my surprise it was FANTASTIC!! From the minute we walked in the door to the minute we walked it was nothing but pleasant. The food was DELICIOUS! We all had sandwiches and were very happy with our selections. This is a restaurant we have passed for many years on our trip out to visit family in Salem and we will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lunch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pad thai”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

OMG what an unexpected find. burger, chicken, chopped steak all thumbs up. Ordered pad thai from review one of the better ones I've had. The coconut cream pie was awesome. Eat here you will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Thai one on!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

This unassuming little diner with a beautiful view of the Blue Ridge Mountains, serves up some great Virginia food, at economical prices. The grilled chicken breast was tender, juicy and delicious. The burgers were exceptional, as was the ground steak and onions with gravy. The manager is Thai, and makes Thai food off menu, when requested. They made us some Pad Thai chicken, which is the best we have had anywhere. The drowned noodles us another great Thai dish you can order off menu. For dessert, their home made pies are incredible. We ordered coconut cream pie, which was so good, the other tables started ordering the same, until they ran out of pies. Man, that pie was to die for!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JLPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“trip south”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We ate dinner here while staying at Wattstull Inn,wasn't sure if it was open.Very clean,limited menu but a nice variety of items.The gentleman that seated us,also took our order and served us,He said there are only servers on weekends.good food decent price.On our trip back home we stayed at the Inn again but on Sunday morning when we left,we were going to go there for breakfast, the restaurant wasn't open,although the hours posted said it should have been.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kja3075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing