We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. OK price”
Review of Wattstull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchanan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wattstull Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Buchanan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place. OK price”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The adjacent restaurant held promise of great home-cooked food but two different dinner meals were just fair. Heavy fog limited our view but it looked like morning across the valley would be pretty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGraham68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    14
    1
    5
See reviews for
29
31
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was clean and comfortable for the price we paid. We called from the road and just wanted a place to crash. The room was clean, the towels were fine, and the bed was comfortable. Beats staying at one of the chains. Plus a great view and friendly service at the breakfast place at the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here because it was a halfway point on our vacation. We brought our dogs and the motel allows them for a fee. It had clean sheets and towels. If you want fancy spend more and stay somewhere else. we only stayed 9 hours bit the stay was everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristenandRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Could not ask for a better view! The room was spacious and clean. No bugs, stains, smells or random hairs. The lady who owns the hotel isn't overly pleasant she's just there. I don't know, when I go to mom and pop places I would think the owners would at least make you feel welcome and smile at you but nope, not her.
CONS: No Coffee and the pool was nasty. I stuck my feet in it but that's about it...
PROS: Hotel and gas station within walking distance and we got to keep a towel to clean our bike.
But they place is so pretty I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

At first we weren't sure if this place was open. After a few minutes, a young guy came running over to open up the locked office. He was very friendly and apologized for the office being locked. The room was stuffy but quickly cooled off with the AC on. The room was large and the king sized bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was clean, and for those who complain about the lack of a bathroom fan and what that implies in a humid environment, this building is a 50's vintage. Location is great, the view is gorgeous, they accept dogs if they are well behaved, and I paid less than $100 for the night. Saw kids having fun in the pool. There is a restaurant nearby, but I would head for the Greenwood diner two exits south for a meal. The restaurant's in Buchanan all appear to be closed except for the grill in the drugstore that could have been a setting in Mayberry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomWhitePelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Let's just say for the money, stay somewhere else. The good things - location, and friendly cleaning staff. The bad things - the unfriendliness of the lady that runs this place. From the reservation process, to check in, to anything else you may have to ask about. Advertised as to having a pool, well that is correct they do have a pool, but you can't swim in it! Apparently a bridge has been out for 10 months and this was the reason that the pool was not ready. Not sure what that has to do with anything but that is what we were told. Pet friendly - yes, but you can't leave your pet unattended in the room. Cleanliness - upon arrival, hedges being trimmed and laying all over the sidewalks and entry ways, rooms old and outdated, outside garbage can (1) ran over all weekend. Ice machine jammed. As previously mentioned no hairdryer, no coffee maker, no vent in bathroom. Some rooms had refrigerator and microwave, some did not. And yes, there are two steps to get up onto the walkway area. All in all the worst experience we have ever had and we travel a lot. I would not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Streak_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buchanan
8.3 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
7.9 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
947 reviews
17.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
390 reviews
17.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville/Roanoke North
17.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wattstull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattstull Inn

Property: Wattstull Inn
Address: 130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Buchanan
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buchanan
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned and Operated Inn offering King,Two Double, Single, and Adjoining Suites. Limited Smoking and Pet friendly Rooms. All rooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen tv's streaming DirecTv, and refrigerators. The Inn also features it's own private pool for guests only as well as Free Coffee in the Office lounge and the Mountain View Restaurant is just below offering dining options as well as other local venues. Coming soon new for 2015 is our Kayak rental and guide service offering multiple options and package rates as well as other added amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wattstull Hotel Buchanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing