We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VISIT”

Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Brookneal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Patrick Henry's Red Hill is the last home and burial place of Virginia's first elected governor, Patrick Henry. Red Hill is the National Memorial for Patrick Henry and his life and home. Exhibiting Patrick Henry’s restored artwork, buildings, and the nationally ranked Osage orange tree, Red Hill offers tours, special events and school outreach programs.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

Love history, and had never been here before. Learn about Patrick Henry and his life. Visited in September, nice weather for viewing buildings outside. Great place to visit in fall. Very friendly people in visitor center. Enjoyed very much.

Thank karenlou2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHenrysRedHill, Public Relations Manager at Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your kind review! Hope to see you again at one of our special events that take place throughout the year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"law office"
in 18 reviews
"the main house"
in 8 reviews
"small museum"
in 9 reviews
"retirement home"
in 2 reviews
"his life"
in 5 reviews
"african american cemetery"
in 2 reviews
"history books"
in 3 reviews
"blacksmith shop"
in 3 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 5 reviews
"visitor center"
in 6 reviews
"reconstructed buildings"
in 2 reviews
"tobacco plantation"
in 2 reviews
"slave cemetery"
in 2 reviews
"minute film"
in 2 reviews
"early american history"
in 2 reviews
"founding fathers"
in 3 reviews
"walking trails"
in 2 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2017

We visited Red Hill while staying in nearby Appomatox, VA. Red Hill is well worth the drive. We were pleasantly surprised at how much we learned about Patrick Henry. The docents were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The landscape is breathtaking and we very much enjoyed visiting Mr. Henry's burial site.

Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHenrysRedHill, Public Relations Manager at Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thank you Jennifer, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Red Hill. One of our goals is to make sure that our visitors learn something new that they never knew before about Patrick Henry. The beautiful grounds here at Red Hill really help you step back in time and get away from the hustle and bustle of life. Thank you again for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

Red Hill sits just beyond the small town of Brookneal, VA. This site is easily accessible and impeccably maintained. Many artifacts belonged to Patrick Henry and the volunteers have diligently located and display additional period pieces. We encourage you to watch the video before touring the site.

Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHenrysRedHill, Public Relations Manager at Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Christy,
Thank you so much for visiting Red Hill and your kind review! We are delighted that you enjoyed watching the video prior to touring the grounds. It really does give a great overview of Patrick Henry's life and Red Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

We visited Red Hill after living in the area for quite some time. My three children ages 8, 12 and 14 loved exploring the grounds and seeing how life was like 200 years ago. The staff person was very attentive and answered all of our questions. We particularly enjoyed the walk to the slave cemetery and the quietness of the scatter garden. I plan on visiting again for the BBQ festival and Christmas open house.

Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHenrysRedHill, Public Relations Manager at Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Charles,
Thank you so much for visiting Red Hill with your family, and for your kind review! We love seeing children learn about the history here. We cannot wait to see you again in November for Bluegrass, Barbecue, and Brew Festival and in December for the Christmas Open House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2017

It took a little driving to get there, but it was very interesting. His home in later life shows a rather spartan life style in beautiful setting. The museum and film are interesting, too. Worth the trip for those interested in founding fathers.

Thank LaRhee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHenrysRedHill, Public Relations Manager at Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you LaRhee! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit here to Red Hill. We love hearing from our visitors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial also viewed

Been to Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing