We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find but a nice visit. A great hike to the slave cemetery!”

Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Brookneal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Patrick Henry's Red Hill is the last home and burial place of Virginia's first elected governor, Patrick Henry. Red Hill is the National Memorial for Patrick Henry and his life and home. Exhibiting Patrick Henry’s restored artwork, buildings, and the nationally ranked Osage orange tree, Red Hill offers tours, special events and school outreach programs.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Don't give up looking for Red Hill! It certainly is off the beaten path. The entire visit is self-guided through the small house and various out-buildings. There is also a video which provides the majority of the information, and a small museum.

I would have liked a little more information or write-ups for the buildings.

You can also take a hike to the slave cemetery which will take you past a tobacco barn. But be prepared for a moderate hike through the woods (bring bug spray).

Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHenrysRedHill, Public Relations Manager at Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hello Linda O,
I am so glad you came to visit Red Hill! We are very much off the beaten path; we like to call ourselves a hidden treasure! We do have several markers around the property that talks and the Guide and map also has some information on the buildings. If you are able, we would love to have you at one of our events where docents will be in the buildings to interpret them! Come back again! AB, Marketing Coordinator :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"law office"
in 18 reviews
"the main house"
in 8 reviews
"small museum"
in 9 reviews
"retirement home"
in 2 reviews
"his life"
in 5 reviews
"african american cemetery"
in 2 reviews
"history books"
in 3 reviews
"blacksmith shop"
in 3 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 5 reviews
"visitor center"
in 6 reviews
"reconstructed buildings"
in 2 reviews
"tobacco plantation"
in 2 reviews
"slave cemetery"
in 2 reviews
"minute film"
in 2 reviews
"early american history"
in 2 reviews
"founding fathers"
in 3 reviews
"walking trails"
in 2 reviews
Filter

61 - 65 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

The grounds are beautiful. The video - while it does help give background on Henry's life - is very saccharin. Very. The buildings are recreations - but very nicely done. And the grave sites are serene and memorable. Worth even a decent distance drive to see if you enjoy US/Revolutionary history.

Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We enjoyed the ride in the country and discovered a gem. We visited on the 4th of July in which there were the regular sightseeing opportunities of the place along with venders, live music and fireworks. They did a reenactment of Patrick Henry's speech. There is a nice visitor's center and small museum. Will return for other special events. It was only $10 per car.

Thank jkbrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHenrysRedHill, Public Relations Manager at Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Hello jkbrown2!

I am so glad that you were able to spend your 4th of July with us here at Red Hill. Thank you for your kind words and I hope to have you back here for another event! We have a wine tasting event, our Tastings on the Terrace coming up on October 5th which is just a low key event. We also have out Bluegrass, Barbecue & Brew Festival on November 2nd! We hope to see you soon! - AB, Marketing Coordinator :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a unique historic home, outbuildings, and grounds of the American Revolutionary leader Patrick Henry.

Thank RednexTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHenrysRedHill, Public Relations Manager at Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi RednexTN! Thank you for the great rating. I hope that you come back to see us soon, maybe perhaps for our July 4th Independence Day Celebration or in November for our Bluegrass, Barbecue & Brew Festival on the 2nd. To view our events, check out www.redhill.org/events. AB, Marketing Coordinator :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I took a trip to see Patrick's Henry's final home. I'm a big fan, but was disappointed. There wasn't much here. We did come when the place wasn't open, so maybe there's more to it.

Thank YKNOTVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHenrysRedHill, Public Relations Manager at Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Hello YKNOTVirginia! I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Red Hill. You have to come when we are open because you did not get to experience any of what we have to offer. We aim to bring Patrick Henry to life through our staff, a video in the museum, and the largest collection of Henry memorabilia in the world. We also have the plantation buildings open for touring so please come back when we are here. We are open Monday through Saturday from 9am to 5pm and Sunday 1pm to 5pm. We are closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Day. AB, Marketing Coordinator :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial also viewed

Been to Red Hill Patrick Henry National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing